Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

    This is a discussion on Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Try a different filter and make sure nothing else is connected, just the router to the test socket. Also, double-check ...

    1. #11
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Try a different filter and make sure nothing else is connected, just the router to the test socket. Also, double-check that this is indeed the master socket - try and see if this is where the outside line enters the property.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jimbo[73)'s Avatar
      jimbo[73) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Yeah in test socket 100% nearest to where it comes in at the front door. heres new stats after reboot>>>>>>

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 44467 84777 0 6613 347503 00:05:57
      LAN 100M/Full 85019 44994 0 307489 8242 00:06:49
      WLAN 11M/54M 251 0 0 77 0 00:06:36
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3791 kbps 792 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 8 db

      thx jimbo

    4. #13
      jimbo[73)'s Avatar
      jimbo[73) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      How would check to make sure am on max package and what line setting adsl2 + etc ?

    5. #14
      jimbo[73)'s Avatar
      jimbo[73) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Any help on this would be greatfull,plezzz )) any1....

    6. #15
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Search google for "router stats" this program gives simple stats like what mode is being used, example ADSL2+

    7. #16
      jimbo[73)'s Avatar
      jimbo[73) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      How would i go about getting my line resynced and start the training period off again,4mb speed and the exchange is only up the road so not happy (

      I feel that the router was rebooted alot at the begining of treining period and that has caused the problems,as there are a few of in this house /share and people forgot to not turn it off ?

    8. #17
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by jimbo[73) View Post
      How would i go about getting my line resynced and start the training period off again,4mb speed and the exchange is only up the road so not happy (

      I feel that the router was rebooted alot at the begining of treining period and that has caused the problems,as there are a few of in this house /share and people forgot to not turn it off ?
      That still doesn't change the fact that your downstream SNR is at default, which means the line is at max speed.

    9. #18
      jimbo[73)'s Avatar
      jimbo[73) is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Ok andy,thanks so much for your time and help )
      I will ring up sky 2morrow and see what can happen,just to make sure everything is correct ?

    10. #19
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      This is an example of the noise that is on your line somewhere, this skyuser member,

      Gazwozhere

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4608 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 28.0 db
      Noise Margin 12.4 db 13.0 db

      Has the same downstream attenuation as you have and is syncing higher, with a decent noise margin, this shows how simlar your stats should be.
      This is only a guide to what you should achive.

    11. #20
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Hi new to sky,please could you check my stats.

      Quote Originally Posted by jimbo[73) View Post
      the exchange is only up the road so not happy (
      Your line attentuation suggests otherwise. Explain to Sky that your not getting the speed expected even though you are plugged into the test socket. If you get a ticket raised with CST insist that this is escalated to get a BT Openreach engineer out to have a look as it's clearly an issue with the external line. You may require an D and E side swap.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION