Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Disconnections

    This is a discussion on Disconnections within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi. Since the begining of August my internet has been constantly disconnecting. It happens about 4-5 times an hour at ...

    1. #1
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disconnections

      Hi.

      Since the begining of August my internet has been constantly disconnecting.
      It happens about 4-5 times an hour at all times of the day.
      I have tried 6 filters and that has not helped. I have rebooted the Netgear modem loads of times and still no good.
      The modem is connected to the master socket through the filter and then i use Max Value homeplugs. I bought these about 2 weeks ago to get better connection as i was using wireless and that kept cutting out. On my master socket i have the old type of socket with only hole for the telephone to go in and i have taken of the faceplate but there are only 2 wires comming in from the BT cables from the telegraph pole.
      I am on Sky Everyday and have been for about 3 and a half years.
      I have got my router stats below for people to have a look.

      System Up Time 01:02:55
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 267 288 0 1145 2849 00:01:12
      LAN 10M/100M 17771 16896 0 3573 2141 01:02:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6080 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 45.0 db 30.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.1 db 14.0 db

      Thank you for any help in advance.Vince


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      On my master socket i have the old type of socket with only hole for the telephone to go in and i have taken of the faceplate but there are only 2 wires comming in from the BT cables from the telegraph pole.
      Have you any extensions? If so they must be connected to a junction box. Make sure you have filters fitted to all that are in use.

      Is there any noise on your voice line? Remove the filter and plug in a corded phone, dial 17070 option 2 and listen. It should be very quiet with only a faint his at most.

      You might want to try downloading and running Internet Software Use the Noise Margin graph to map the noise on your line. This will show if line faults are causing your connection to drop. I find it better to set the Sample interval to 60 secs on the Graph set up page. This allows one page to cover 4 hours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      Hello.
      Thank you for your reply.
      I don't have any extentions, this is the only socket in the house and has been since we moved in over 20 years ago. I was looking at another thread and they said disconnect one of the wires so when i to check that was when i found out that there was only 2 wires going into the socket.
      I have the filter pluged into the socket and the cable pluged into the filter to the modem and then the answerphone into the phone socket and 1 cordless phone upstairs that connects to the answerphone so only 1 phone in the house and no Sky telephone lead is connected at all. From the modem that is connected to the Max Value homeplug which i then connect my computer to the other homeplug upstairs via ethernt cable.
      I don't know if sky are doing something but i used to download 40-50 gig a month but now that they have lowered the limit to 10 gig and i am at 35 gig at the mo i was thinking that may be the reason.
      Vince

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      I don't think Sky have started enforcing usage limits yet. If they have they should be doing it according to their T & Cs, ie, they should advise you by letter/email that you have exceeded your limit and ask you to reduce. If you do not reduce your usage they have several options which they give here - Sky Broadband Terms - Sky Digital TV, Broadband and Talk - Join Online

      If you only have one socket then an internal fault is unlikely, unless you have dodgy filters. What you can try is running the phone side through 2 filters. Plug one filter into the socket and use this for the router. Plug a second filter into the first one and use this for the phone. I don't know why this should work, but it has been reported to stop interference from a Sky box. Although you don't have one of these, it may still help.

      Have you tried your voice line for noise?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      Hello.

      I have tried the line test and that seems ok.
      One of the reasons i went homeplugs was that the next door neighbour had BT home hub installed and it interferred with my wireless connection and i did change channels but it never held a good connection long wnough.
      When i changed to using homeplugs it was ok for 2-3 weeks and then it started playing up.
      I would rather try and sort the problem out before i ring Sky cs incase its my fault and wasting mine and their time when i could of done myself.
      Vince

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      So at that moment you just have a filter (you said you've tried 6, so at least that rules out filters) with the ADSL cable that sky supplied (it's a light grey colour) into the filter and no extension sockets with other devices? If that's the case, there's not much more you could do yourself unless anyone else has any ideas.

      From everything in the thread thus far, the next step would be to ring up sky (08442 410515) and tell them your internet is dropping. You may be surprised that tier 1 may not be aware of home plug technology, so best just telling them you're connected via ethernet connection... even though essentially you are. It will eventually get escalated and dealt with ASAP.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnections

      Just be sure that it is the router that is dropping its connection and not the homeplugs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION