Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

    This is a discussion on Sky Connect Package...Please Help ! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I tried to do the BT speed test but it says I entered the rong MAC code and that it ...

    1. #11
      colonel's Avatar
      colonel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      I tried to do the BT speed test but it says I entered the rong MAC code and that it as not matched to my account information. I think I swapped routers somehere along the line !

      I am looking at plusnet now as a LLU operator in my area....good or bad ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      Are you sure Plusnet is LLU, they are owned by BT?

    4. #13
      colonel's Avatar
      colonel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      Whoops ! You are correct.

      SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Perth (ESPER) Exchange

      I have three ISP's available...

      1) AOL
      2) C&W/Bulldog
      3) Orange
      4) Talk Talk

      Who do you think is going to be the best ISP to go to ?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      I tried to do the BT speed test but it says I entered the rong MAC code and that it as not matched to my account information. I think I swapped routers somehere along the line !
      It should not matter if you have changed routers. The username that is required is the LAN MAC of the router, without the colons, followed by @skydsl

      The speed test you did was during the throttling period, most find that between about 12am and 5 pm the speed is much better. With a sync speed of 1856, you should be able to download at 1500kbps, no one is able to download at their sync speed.

      Although not an LLU provider Plusnet can supply up to 20Mbs on exchanges which BT have upgraded. This will not help you, as you have no hope of getting anything like that speed.

      Go to the ISP that will guarantee you the best speed and get it in writing. If you do not get it, you should then be able to leave without penalty. Plusnet are a good ISP and will offer you a package suitable for your needs. TalkTalk are OK as long as you are prepared to tie into their phone offering.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      colonel's Avatar
      colonel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      Thanks Tom.

      I think the likelyhood of getting it in writing from an ISP is not going to happen !

      Also, plusnet/bt do not show LLU as enabled so my only choice would be TT like you said...

      Are bulldog any better these days ?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Connect Package...Please Help !

      Are bulldog any better these days ?
      I haven't been able to find one good remark about them, I think they were taken over by Pipex, who were not very popular either.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION