Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Extremely high ping

    This is a discussion on Extremely high ping within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi on the 18th I got the XTE-2005 from ADSL online. A few days before that Sky randomly put me ...

    1. #1
      no1Joeno1's Avatar
      no1Joeno1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extremely high ping

      Hi on the 18th I got the XTE-2005 from ADSL online. A few days before that Sky randomly put me on DLM, but I only installed it once it ended. So here are my current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18008 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 7.8 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 27.5 db

      I have no idea why they set my upstream that low, I actually had a better noise margin when it was higher.

      Anyway here is a history of my speed tests:

      8/20/2009 2:16 AM GMT 4.69 Mb/s 0.07 Mb/s 346 ms Coventry ~ 100 mi Open
      8/20/2009 2:12 AM GMT 7.17 Mb/s 0.10 Mb/s 433 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/20/2009 2:02 AM GMT 3.39 Mb/s 0.11 Mb/s 125 ms Maidenhead ~ 100 mi Open
      8/20/2009 1:53 AM GMT 5.30 Mb/s 0.08 Mb/s 905 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/20/2009 1:41 AM GMT 4.66 Mb/s 0.07 Mb/s 744 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/20/2009 1:31 AM GMT 4.49 Mb/s 0.09 Mb/s 124 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/19/2009 6:46 PM GMT 5.93 Mb/s 0.07 Mb/s 742 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/19/2009 6:29 PM GMT 4.57 Mb/s 0.16 Mb/s 568 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 5:04 PM GMT 14.32 Mb/s 0.24 Mb/s 291 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 5:04 PM GMT 9.26 Mb/s 0.15 Mb/s 552 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 5:03 PM GMT 6.87 Mb/s 0.12 Mb/s 55 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 5:01 PM GMT 3.60 Mb/s 0.16 Mb/s 175 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 4:50 PM GMT 14.09 Mb/s 0.30 Mb/s 56 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/18/2009 4:48 PM GMT 4.10 Mb/s 0.14 Mb/s 658 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/17/2009 6:37 PM GMT 7.73 Mb/s 0.34 Mb/s 59 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/9/2009 1:54 AM GMT 10.15 Mb/s 0.65 Mb/s 62 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/7/2009 4:47 PM GMT 7.63 Mb/s 0.19 Mb/s 324 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/6/2009 12:13 AM GMT 11.05 Mb/s 0.54 Mb/s 67 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/5/2009 1:14 PM GMT 11.19 Mb/s 0.64 Mb/s 65 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/5/2009 12:12 PM GMT 11.37 Mb/s 0.61 Mb/s 65 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/2/2009 11:50 AM GMT 11.45 Mb/s 0.59 Mb/s 61 ms London ~ 50 mi Open
      8/1/2009 8:59 PM GMT 6.90 Mb/s 0.23 Mb/s 430 ms London ~ 50 mi Open

      I have been getting trouble with my ping since my internet got struck by lightning about a month back. But I have replaced the faulty hubs etc. I have also changed the master socket.

      Could it be the router? As a few weeks ago, before I played a game, my ping would be around 67. But I play the game for about 30 seconds, and I get kicked for high ping (over 200). I do a speed test, it is over 200. Then I reset the router, it is fixed, until I play a game or download something again.

      It stopped doing though, until a few days ago.

      Anyone know how to fix this? Thanks.

      edit: Before they put me on DLM a few days ago, my downstream sync was just over 13000.

      Tomorrow I will probably phone Sky to re run DLM though.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      If you want your ping reduced ask Sky to reduce your Max Delay setting. I'd use the kana form to request this.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      I think DLM automatically reduces the delay, but there is no harm in trying. Phone them about your upload though, you should get pretty near the maximum, which I think may also improve your gaming experience.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      no1Joeno1's Avatar
      no1Joeno1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      Ok thanks. I'll ask them to re run DLM then.

      Here's my latest speedtest.



      55 ping, but still slow. It also takes around 10 seconds to load a web page.

    6. #5
      no1Joeno1's Avatar
      no1Joeno1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      I'm going to ring Sky at about 8, but I have reset my router now.

      I did a speed test on my Dad's PC, he got 67 ping and 14Mb/s download.
      I just did one and got this:


      Before I reset the router though, all the PCs in the house were slow.

      edit: Did another one on my Dad's PC:


      Would Sky send me a new router for free?

    7. #6
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      Dont phone SKY at 8 at all as you will be on the phone for ages. Simply phone after 10.30pm and you should get straight through.

      Tell them you dont want to remain on DLM and you are an online gamer then will then kill DLM and then increase your upload and put the max delays down to 8.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      I just did one and got this:


      Don't waste your time with Speedtest.net, use Sky User - Broadband Speed Tester
      It is also not worthwhile doing speedtests until DLM is finished. The speeds can fluctuate a great deal during the training.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      no1Joeno1's Avatar
      no1Joeno1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      Ok thanks.
      I'll call them later then.

      My internet seems to be better now, although I haven't done anything to it, on Sky User speed test I get 11496 Kbps 350 Kbps and on speedtest.net I get:



      Also I'm not on DLM atm, it ended before I put in my master socket, so my speeds aren't what they should be.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      You can believe the results from speedtest.net if you like, eventually you may manage to get a result like this
      http://www.speedtest.net/result/513922424.png


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      no1Joeno1's Avatar
      no1Joeno1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extremely high ping

      My ping is fixed now, but I phoned Sky to improve my speeds.

      I asked if I can be put on DLM, then the man said "you want to see if your on DLM?". I said "no, I want to be put on DLM. I have a new master socket so I can get better speeds as my noise margin has increased." Then he says "that's what I said, you want me to see if your on DLM."

      So I just said yeah.

      I handed the phone to my Dad. And then he said our upload speed is 600kb/s, but my router says it's 412 and my sky says 416. And then he said there is nothing wrong with out internet and we have good speed. My Dad didn't say anything else about it though.

      So nothing has been done. :@

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 18008 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 7.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 27.0 db

      Is there a way I can do it online? Sky's customer service is ridiculous. Or what is the compartment called where they know what they're talking about?

      Also why does he think it's 600kb? And he said my line can't get better than that, it cleary can as before they re run DLM a week ago I had 912. And my upstream noise margin is 27.

      Thanks.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION