Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help connecting computers to the internet?

    This is a discussion on Help connecting computers to the internet? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have 3 computers, all wired to the same router, and one computer works fine, it connects to the net ...

    1. #1
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help connecting computers to the internet?

      I have 3 computers, all wired to the same router, and one computer works fine, it connects to the net fine,pops op at the bottom connected, but the other 2 wont connect?

      I can access the router page from them and they are connected in a netwrok to share files but they wont load websites or that, not sure what to do, any help?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      If you ping a website, do you get 100% packet loss?

      You could try manually assigning the IP/DNS settings on the operating system that isn't connecting to the net and check if that sorts it out. If not, do you run firewalls on the computers that aren't working?

    4. #3
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      If you ping a website, do you get 100% packet loss?

      You could try manually assigning the IP/DNS settings on the operating system that isn't connecting to the net and check if that sorts it out. If not, do you run firewalls on the computers that aren't working?
      how do you find out all the dteails of your comptuer? DNS numbers etc? IP?

    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      Win xp:

      start > control panel > network connections > right click on local area connection or wireless network connection (whichever you use) > properties > double click 'tcp/ip (internet protocol) > put a dot in 'use the following ip address' > ip: 192.168.0.20 dns: 255.255.255.0 default gateway: 192.168.0.1 preferred dns: 192.168.0.1 > click ok and close the previous screen

      For windows vista:

      start > control panel > network and sharing centre > manage network connections > right click wireless network connection or local area connection (whichever you use) > properties > double click 'ipv4' > put a dot in 'use the following ip address' > ip: 192.168.0.20 dns: 255.255.255.0 default gateway: 192.168.0.1 preferred dns: 192.168.0.1 > click ok and close the previous screen

      Check if that sorts it out.

    6. #5
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      and where do you input that in the router settings?

      do you think that sthe problem its not going online?

      what about alternate DNS?
      Last edited by gamez4life; 22-08-09 at 11:22 PM.

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      It's not in the router settings, it's in the actual operating system you do those steps:

      start menu... etc. etc.

    8. #7
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      No i mean do you think the router isnt letting the computer in, or the computer not letting the router in?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Help connecting computers to the internet?

      I can access the router page from them and they are connected in a netwrok to share files but they wont load websites or that, not sure what to do, any help
      If you can access the router and share files on the network, the most likely cause is your firewalls or AV.

      Start one of them in Safe Mode with Networking and see if you can access the web. If you can it points to your security software. Disconnect from the Web and sort it out, don't hang about on the web in Safe Mode or you will very quickly become infected. Windows will not always load wireless drivers in Safe Mode, so try it by cable.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION