Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Slow speed+router stats

    This is a discussion on Slow speed+router stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If I was to buy one of the filter faceplates would I need one for both the double and single ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      If I was to buy one of the filter faceplates would I need one for both the double and single sockets?
      Don't but a filter faceplate, it will not fit on the boxes you have. With recessed metal boxes it may not even be possible to fit an NTE5 box.

      Do you only have one extension, if so I find it a bit confusing that you have 2 cables going into your 2 boxes. With one extension you would normally have 2 cables going into the master box and one going into the extension box. Are you sure you do not have another extension box tucked away somewhere? Both plates are masters which is not really correct either.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      An NTE-5 will fit the standard back boxes, Is the photo two shots of the same socket?. So you could replace the double socket master with a NTE-5 and a filter faceplate to take care of the extension.

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      The first photo is a single socket and thew second one is a double socket. Wiring seems strange though, maybe there is a junction box somewhere that connects the external cable to the white internal one.

    5. #14
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      If you mean the pics at #9 then they are both double sockets and the OP refers to a single extension in the bedroom. I see nothing to complex here, Its just a matter of replacing the double master with a NTE-5 and filter faceplate.
      The only thing that concerns me is why it is not a NTE-5 now? is this a flat? or a new house with an XNTE?
      Last edited by Brian69; 18-08-09 at 08:53 PM.

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      Sorry Brian, just to clarify what I was trying to say, one is a single gang size electric socket and one is a double gang size electric socket, I did not mean the had one or two phone points in them.

      I should have been clearer, but hey, I knew what I was on about

    7. #16
      jims-in's Avatar
      jims-in is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      Hey guy

      The 2 photos are of the same socket box (the double one) in the living room the one in the bedroom is just as far as I know a simple phone socket (no test socket inside).

      I live in a block of flats about 5 years old, that how long ago they was built.
      There is no other sockets in the flat. Hope this helps in some way.

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      LOL, must get my eyes tested.

      Can you post the pic of the other one with the face off?

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      Me too I thought it was different sockets, just shows you the camera can lie. I could have sworn it was a double size box

      There should be no problem fitting an NTE5 box then, if you want to, but try removing the ring wire first, that in itself might solve your problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      You pair should have gone to Specsave

    11. #20
      jims-in's Avatar
      jims-in is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Upton Park
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speed+router stats

      Hey Guys

      Sorry for not replying sooner I’ve had PC problems and have had to reinstall the lot.

      OK back to subject.
      I have removed the #3 wire and this has gave a slight improvement
      I have also contacted SKY and there reply was
      “I can confirm that your correct download speed is 6070Kbps and your upload speed is 796Kbps. Due to the quality of your broadband line and the distance you are away from your local telephone exchange this is the maximum speed your line will be able to handle.”

      As you can see below I’m not getting anything like 6MB


      Now about the NTE5 box? What would this do?
      How would it improve performance?
      And let’s be honest, do I really need one?
      As I would suspect it’s not cheap.

      Router for today

      Sagem F@ST 2504 [Sky Firmware]

      ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
      Connection Speed6070 kbps796 kbps
      Line Attenuation46.0 db24.7 db
      Noise Margin7.6 db10.5 db

      As you see there is a difference from the first post in the thread.

      Thanks guys and I look forward to reading some more replies.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION