Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    whats the criteria for 20meg

    This is a discussion on whats the criteria for 20meg within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So I get the sky email about the 20meg connection so I reboot the router and then check my stats. ...

    1. #1
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      whats the criteria for 20meg

      So I get the sky email about the 20meg connection so I reboot the router and then check my stats. They are the same 11941kbps down and 764kbps Upload. Now 764 UPLOAD was the OLD CAP and not what the line is capable of. The blurb says upload upto 1.3Mb so I was expecting at LEAST the upload to change as it's on the OLD CAP of 764 and not what the line is capable of. I understand that my download speed will probably not change but I at least expect my upload to change from the OLD CAP of 764 even if it changes to 770 that would indicate that they have indeed done some work, else it all sounds a bit suspect to me. Does anybody know if you can check if a certain exchange is now capable of 20Mb ?

      PS. I'm on the Bradwell Abbey exchange in Milton Keynes if that helps

      Thanks.
      Last edited by stevvie; 17-08-09 at 07:15 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      ...and your stats are?

    4. #3
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      I don't for one minute expect my download speed to change. but what I do expect is for the upload speed to change from the old CAPPED 764 to something better. I was on a business account with Nildram before of 8meg down and 2meg up and was getting nearly the full 2 meg up. So at least I know my line is capable of it and anything else is down to the sky hardware (netgear dg834gt). I'm just under a kilometer (as the crow flys) from the exchanged.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11941 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 33.5 db 19.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 15.0 db

    5. #4
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      You haven't read the email fully, your line doesn't go through DLM the instant the email is sent, it will at some point.

    6. #5
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      That's WHY I was asking whats the criteria or HOW to tell. The email says 'You can track the status of your line by signing in to My Sky.
      Click on the 'Broadband Service Details' section to see the current status and the maximum upload and download speeds your line
      can handle.' And on my 'my sky' stats page it say's
      ' Your Sky Broadband

      You have Sky Broadband Unlimited which offers a maximum download speed of up to 20Mb
      Speed Estimate

      When you purchased Sky Broadband, we estimated that the maximum download speed for your line was: 8-10Mb'

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      The truth is you cannot tell untill Sky try it on your line. I received the e-mail a while ago and I am still waiting to see a change in line stats (or even a re-sync)

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      ' And on my 'my sky' stats page it say's
      It should also tell you whether your line is training or not. If it is not training, under Connection Details, it will say -

      Your Connection details Line testing is not currently in progress.
      We continually look at ways to improve the quality of your broadband connection.

      Check back here for updates.
      Many have succeeded in by-passing the queue by phoning Sky and asking them to increase their speed to the new limits.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      You'll be off IANTE's Christmas card list Tom

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      Shsssss, I think he is on holiday

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: whats the criteria for 20meg

      I do indeed have this showing 'Your Connection details

      Line testing is not currently in progress.

      We continually look at ways to improve the quality of your broadband connection.

      Check back here for updates.'

      I also have this showing in the bottom right 'Go faster, do more with Sky Broadband Unlimited's truly unlimited downloads. It's easy to upgrade online with no activation fees.'
      Although i'm on the sky max package.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION