Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

    This is a discussion on What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Just curious if my speeds a little down when i last synced (turned off and then back on) my ...

    1. #1
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      Hi

      Just curious if my speeds a little down when i last synced (turned off and then back on) my router today at around 1pm what is usually the best time to do this to achieve max speed process as everytime i do it gives a different reading and that's what i am stuck with until i turn off again.

      Just fitted a new adsl filtered faceplate a bt one. Speed was 5312 now 5216. Everything wired correctly and all phones working fine now without filters.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      Here are my stats out of interest

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 1:04:59

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7924 8920 0 0 0 1:03:55
      LAN 15608 13353 0 0 0 1:04:59
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 1:04:32
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5216 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 15.0 db


      Will my line go up after a few days with the new adsl faceplate filter fitted?

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      Will my line go up after a few days with the new adsl faceplate filter fitted?
      No, it will sync at what it thinks is it's maximum when you reboot the router. Unless you have been manually configured or capped by Sky then it will stay the same.

    5. #4
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      well sky tell me i am synced at 5472 there end but like i said was at 5312 yesterday until i turned it off and back on today now 5216

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      Just to check your new filterplate is making good contact, remove it and plug into your Test socket and post the stats from there.

      The thing to remember is that a filtered plate may not always improve your speed, but it will prevent potential and isolate existing problems in your internal wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      i thought it was meant to be as if you are plugged directly into test socket?

    8. #7
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      I have very similar stats to you lynwood1 and I sync at anything from 5200 to 6100. Sometimes it's me that initiates the reconnection and sometimes it's not. Best speed I've had is 6115 and it wasn't me that rebooted the connection!

      I don't worry about it as I still download at 560ish whatever the reported speed!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What's the best time to force a Re-Sync of your router?

      i thought it was meant to be as if you are plugged directly into test socket?
      It is! If your speed was better in the Test socket than it was on the normal faceplate, then you should get the same improved speed using a filtered faceplate. I asked you to check as sometimes the plug does not make good contact with the socket, thus reducing your speed. This is not common, but it does happen.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION