Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Current line stats

    This is a discussion on Current line stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Would you say there is any point in trying to get the last 100k out of the upstream or just ...

    1. #1
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Current line stats

      Would you say there is any point in trying to get the last 100k out of the upstream or just leave it as it is, with the remaining SNR could I even achive the last 100k.
      Stats below

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14526 kbps 1203 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.55 db 8.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Current line stats

      Leave it alone

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Current line stats

      With your attenuation you are doing extremely well. If you get Sky to mess around you might end up worse off. I could almost bet the original speed estimate for your line was much less than you are getting. If anything goes wrong you will have a fight to get back where you are. Be very very happy with what you have.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Current line stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      With your attenuation you are doing extremely well. If you get Sky to mess around you might end up worse off. I could almost bet the original speed estimate for your line was much less than you are getting. If anything goes wrong you will have a fight to get back where you are. Be very very happy with what you have.
      My speed estimate that sky gave at the start was 6.5Mb, but I have to stress that since that was quoted in the beginning alot of work has been done to the external line and sorting out the internal wiring.
      My setup is now XTE 2005 filtered faceplate, dedicated ADSL extension using cat5e then RJ11 faceplate then with a RJ11 cable from the faceplate to the router.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Current line stats

      My setup is now XTE 2005 filtered faceplate, dedicated ADSL extension using cat5e then RJ11 faceplate then with a RJ11 cable from the faceplate to the router.
      You external line must be in very good condition and almost noise free as well. Your attenuation would normally only support 8-10 Mb at best.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Current line stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You external line must be in very good condition and almost noise free as well. Your attenuation would normally only support 8-10 Mb at best.
      I am also using a different router with same chipset as exchange which made up the difference, It was at 12Mb then with matched router 14Mb was easily in reach.
      It really does make a difference to speed.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION