Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

    This is a discussion on Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Just me again..lol Quick question i plug my modem into the main box in my house it houses the ...

    1. #1
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Hi,

      Just me again..lol

      Quick question i plug my modem into the main box in my house it houses the master socket and has a normal faceplate in it that has hard wired extensions for my house (4 extensions in total). The figuers are very similar when i am in the test socket and when i am in the faceplate noise varies from like (test socket) 7.4 or 7.5 to 7.1 to 3 when i am in the (faceplate)..

      1. Would i benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate or not and if so how?

      2. Can anyone recommend a good one and where to buy it?

      3. How easy are they to swap over with my original faceplate?

      finally

      4. Would i still require filters on the other hardwired extensions if they just have phones plugged into them?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      THESE ARE THE CURRENT FACEPLATE RESULTS:-

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 7:35:27

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 18150 24283 0 0 0 7:33:59
      LAN 21672 16826 0 0 0 7:35:27
      WLAN 12072 8248 0 0 0 7:35:00
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5216 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 15.0 d

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      Hi,

      Just me again..lol

      Quick question i plug my modem into the main box in my house it houses the master socket and has a normal faceplate in it that has hard wired extensions for my house (4 extensions in total). The figuers are very similar when i am in the test socket and when i am in the faceplate noise varies from like (test socket) 7.4 or 7.5 to 7.1 to 3 when i am in the (faceplate)..

      1. Would i benefit from fitting a filtered faceplate or not and if so how?
      If the speed is better in the test socket, then yes.

      2. Can anyone recommend a good one and where to buy it?
      We reviewed a few here.

      ADSL Faceplate Filters - SkyUser Reviews

      3. How easy are they to swap over with my original faceplate?
      Fairly easy, they all come with instructions, if not just ask.

      finally

      4. Would i still require filters on the other hardwired extensions if they just have phones plugged into them?

      Thanks
      Nope.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Oops - Depending how competent you are, you could try:

      Sky User - How to remove the ring wire from your master socket




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      wow that was quick..lol

      so what your telling me is if i have a filtered faceplate then its identical to being in the test socket?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Effectively yes.

      If the speed is lower in the older faceplate than using the test socket, this would usually imply that there is an internal wiring problem.

      Removing the ring wire, may just resolve that for you.

      Once you fit the filtered faceplate, it separates the signal for voice and ADSL and so eliminates the need for filters elsewhere along the line.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      not sure i understood your link about the reviews can u just let me know the BEST please and where to get it?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      not sure i understood your link about the reviews can u just let me know the BEST please and where to get it?
      Well, in all honesty, they all tested the same. From cheap to dear ones.

      The Tamar one is the one that I currently use. The other alternative, that others have recommended is the Pressac one. All the links are in the review itself.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      I highly recommend this: ADSL Nation LTD. it is the same British made one supplied to and fitted by BT - Much better build quality than the clones.. And from ADSL Nation, cheaper than anywhere once you include the P&P.. Their service is fast and friendly too - It takes 5 mins to fit and comes with full (openreach) branded destructions. As you have extension wiring too, you'll need the cheap IDC tool ADSL Nation LTD. (I already had a genuine BT one)

      Highly recommended


      Mike

    11. #10
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i fit a filtered faceplate or not?

      Hi

      Ok going to purchase one and it's come down to two choices and the money isnt an issue here.

      1. NTE-2005 Economy Master Faceplate

      or

      2 BTNTE5ADSLfaceplate6way.

      But first need to explain my setup and ask which is best in terms of quality and also likely to give me best stability and speed increase.

      At the moment my faceplate has lots of wires coming out of it going to prob 4 seperatedly hardwired extension sockets in my house.

      I wish to use the main socket that has the test socket to plug my modem into as want to obviously fit the filtered faceplate to this. So which is best and also has the ability for me to ring the extra extensions off as i see at the back some only have three places to put wires and some six.

      Please help

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION