Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    How do my router Statistics look ?

    This is a discussion on How do my router Statistics look ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Might order one of them filters then fairly cheap, they easy to install ?? Heres my master socket, why are ...

    1. #11
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Might order one of them filters then fairly cheap, they easy to install ??

      Heres my master socket, why are them 3 wires not connected?





      The house is a new build, about 2 years old now been here all that time. So the wiring should be fair up to date i would think ????

      U see any other problems from the pics with the socket, theres a orange wire in the back thats not connected to anything ?

      Thanks for all the help

      Ben


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Those wires are not needed, I can see three wires connected only wires connected to terminal 2 and 5 are needed all others disconnect.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      You can take the orange ring wire out of terminal 3, it is not required and may make a bit of difference to your stats. If it is one of the new type NTE5 sockets, it will make no difference, but I don't think yours is, as it does not have the BT Openreach logo.

      All you have to do to fit a filtered faceplate, is remove the wires from the existing one and put them on the new one. As the new one has a bell filter you can use all 3 wires if you wish, but there is nothing to be gained if you don't have a very old phone with a bell inside it, with a rotary dial.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Ok thanks for the all the help.

      I have spoke to sky support and they are going to alter my max delay and put me on fastpath or something if that makes sense to sort the pings out in games ! good news.

      The master socket in my house is in a right pain in the ass place, next to the front door with no power sockets close by.

      Master Socket/Test socket results
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 18.0 db

      Point upstairs medium of house
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.8 db 12.0 db


      Is there that big a difference between the too that i "have" to have the router in the master socket ???? also if the router is downstairs i carnt get wireless up stairs on top floor (3 storey building). If the difference in results gonna get me a few more Mb's ????

      Thanks Ben

    6. #15
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Your noise margin is still some what low even in the test socket, I see you are on connect but even though with that attenuation you should have the full 8Mb with some spare SNR, I would say it points to an external line fault somewhere and is holding you back.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Something strange is happening in your wiring. Your test socket stats show a lower attenuation, which is good, but a poor noise margin which is bad. Your other socket shows a higher attenuation, bad, with a much better noise margin, with the same sync speed.

      It is very difficult to see what is going on. We could maybe do with some input from Brian the phone guru as there is definitely an issue with your wiring somewhere.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      First thing to do is to pull the orange wire out of the master socket faceplate, this shouldbe terminal 3 and is not needed.

    9. #18
      Ben_uk's Avatar
      Ben_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Hello,

      Right ran router statics on all 4 points in the house (5 if you include the test socket)

      Much difference between them 5, does 1 stand out as being the best ?

      bedroom upstaris
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 23.0 db


      Living Room downstairs
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 23.0 db


      hall downstairs
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.7 db 23.0 db


      Hall test socket downstairs
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 15.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.2 db 23.0 db


      bedroom 2 upstairs
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 23.0 db



      If i pull the orange wire out like Smithy99 suggests, is there any danger i could break the house line ?? should it improve my stats ?? what the best way to remove it just cut it off ??

      Thanks Ben

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How do my router Statistics look ?

      Your best results are from 'Hall test socket downstairs' Best attenuation and best noise margin, this will be your real test socket. When the faceplate is removed from this go round and check that all the other sockets have no dial tone.
      It may make no difference, but try removing the wire from the No 3 terminal, just grip it and pull it straight up and it should slide out of the connectors, or cut it as close to the connector as you can.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION