Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Is this normal?

    This is a discussion on Is this normal? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello everybody, I have just finished line testing for Sky Broadband Max/Unlimited and have been rather disappointed to only get ...

    1. #1
      SilverSurfer's Avatar
      SilverSurfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this normal?

      Hello everybody,

      I have just finished line testing for Sky Broadband Max/Unlimited and have been rather disappointed to only get 8Mb as I live fairly close to the exchange and the BT engineer that came out said I should get very good speeds as the quality of the line was good and I was close to the exchange.

      Having read alot (much of which I didn't really understand) about variables affecting broadband connections I find that there are many factors affecting line speed. The trouble is I can't be sure exactly what my stats mean. So I was hoping someone could help me interpret some statistics I have so as to ascertain whether my broadband speed is correct. I am rather new to the internet but I am an old timer in life so I hope that I post all theses statistics correctly.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 10.6 db
      Noise Margin 16.4 db 16.5 db

      This reading was taken plugged directly into the test socket and at off peak hours. So I would be very grateful if someone could tell me whether this is about a fair connection or whether I need to contact Sky or do something myself to adjust things.

      Thankyou for your Help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      You should contact Sky, with those stats you should be getting double the speed you have now.

      When DLM was running, did you have the router in the test socket? because it may have found some noise caused by your other wiring if you didnt.

    4. #3
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      You've been capped so you'll need to contact Sky and ask for CST to manually configure your connection.

    5. #4
      SilverSurfer's Avatar
      SilverSurfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Thankyou both very much for letting me know.

      Here are my stats with everything plugged in. This is how it would have been tested, I also notice in MY SKY profile that line testing actually only ran for four days.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 22.0 db 10.7 db
      Noise Margin 16.8 db 13.0 db

      Does any of this change anything or should I definitely give them a ring and have a moan?


      Cheers

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Not much difference, so yes give them a call. I'd recommend calling after 10pm as you've a better chance getting CST to do something about it.

    7. #6
      Zook's Avatar
      Zook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 (Black One)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Excuse me for butting in but is it this number to ring after 10pm > 08442 410 515 .. ? thanks

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by Zook View Post
      Excuse me for butting in but is it this number to ring after 10pm > 08442 410 515 .. ? thanks
      Yep, that's the one.

    9. #8
      Zook's Avatar
      Zook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 (Black One)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      Yep, that's the one.
      Thank you

    10. #9
      SilverSurfer's Avatar
      SilverSurfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Thanks again for everyones help. I will let you know how I get on.

      Cheers

    11. #10
      SilverSurfer's Avatar
      SilverSurfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal?

      Hello Again,

      I called Sky today regards my low sync speed and after going through the, change microfilter and test socket business was then issued a raised ticket. Upon phoning back Sky raised my line to 16Mb sync speed.

      However, when I conducted real download checks on various speedtest sites as well as downloading files I was still only getting a real download of 8Mb. So I phoned sky back and went through the micro filter/test socket business again and another ticket was raised. This time they put my sync speed up to 20Mb and still I only have real download of around the 8Mb mark.

      We checked wired and wireless connections and netstat, pinged google for lost packets and still the 8Mb real download would not be surpassed. The sky people have agreed that my line is excellent and that it is a 'throughput' problem. This I believe, means that unless the new router they are sending me fixes the problem, it will be put down to a fault at my end with my PC.

      I felt like a bit of a moaner because 8Mb isnt bad, but when your line is solid and you sync fine at 20Mb it does feel as if you are being a little hard done by. I also wonder why I was first set at 8Mb if my line could sync at 20Mb even though now my real download wont budge from that original 8Mb mark.

      So with that said, does anyone have any ideas of what could be happening?

      Is it sky being slightly naughty and somehow capping me, is a bad router to blame or is it my laptop that is causing the problems?

      Any ideas would be gratefully recieved, the infomation given me so far has enabled me to push past the first levels of Skys customer care who tried to palm me off with nonsense.

      I hope all this has made sense, my internet terminology is not great and my grammar is even worse!

      Thankyou in advance

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION