Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

    This is a discussion on Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, New to forum so apologises in advance if topic is covered elsewhere. We have had sky for about 10 ...

    1. #1
      olliew's Avatar
      olliew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208944
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      Hi,

      New to forum so apologises in advance if topic is covered elsewhere.

      We have had sky for about 10 months and have had problems during that time with router going off line and phone breaking up. After numerous calls to sky, finally persuaded them to send engineer who replaced phone wires coming into the flat and seemed that the problem has been solved. However last few days new problem arisen - we are having problems accessing lots of websites - i.e. going onto Google is no problem, it loads straight away but then trying to get onto other sites, e.g. yahoo - it just times out and doesn't load up. The router seems fine, all lights on and pc says it is connectivity is good.

      Like I said, sorry if this is a common problem that is covered elsewhere but would love any advice/suggestions on what the cause might be.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      If you could answer a couple of questions so we can all get a better insight, it'd be good mate:

      Do the websites you're trying to access seem to load up some images/text and then suddenly seem to stop and then time out, or does it simply not load at all?

      Do you connect wirelessly or via ethernet cable? If wireless, try via an ethernet connection and check if it's still the same via ethernet.

      Are you running any firewalls? If so, try disabling and try it out again.

      Out of interest, in case it's specifically to do with the internet building errors or such, post up your router stats. How to do it below:

      1. Open browser, type in the address bar '192.168.0.1'
      2. User:Pass = admin:sky
      3. Go to the bottom of the page and there will be 3 buttons, one of which will be 'show statistics' - click on that
      4. Copy and paste what you have in there.

    4. #3
      olliew's Avatar
      olliew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208944
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      thanks for your swift reply.

      I will try and give some more information although the laptop is at home so have asked my wife to get the router stats.

      Most pages don't load at all...blank screen that looks like it is loading...i.e. green bar along bottom is loading but eventually comes up with internet explorer can not display page etc etc.

      It is currently wireless but will try and run it through the ethernet cable to see if it makes a difference. Has McAfee installed so again, will try and disable firewalls and run it again.

      Will post router stats when i get them

      thanks again for help.

    5. #4
      olliew's Avatar
      olliew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208944
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2045 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 37 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 20 db

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      You are syncing quite slow, this combined with using wireless is probably causing IE to time out. Try a wired connection and see if this rules out the wireless.

      You appear to be on ADSL2+ which may not be the best mode for your line. You could try phoning Sky and ask them to try your connection on G.DMT. Getting past Tier 1 may be your problem as they may not know what you are taking about.

      Also try your router in the Test socket, link below, if you have one, see if your stats improve. If you have not already done so, remove the ring wire from Terminal 3 in your master socket. This can effect performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      olliew's Avatar
      olliew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0208944
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing website (e.g yahoo) issues - Any help gratefully recieved

      thanks, will look into the wire tonight and then try and convince sky to switch me

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION