Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

    This is a discussion on Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My connect has been down since around 8 and just came back on, there was an orange light on my ...

    1. #1
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      My connect has been down since around 8 and just came back on, there was an orange light on my router and n the config page the server was down,not sure if it was a one off or what was wrong, anyone know anything? thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      gamez4life
      Hi yes I rang Sky and was informed that it was only some of the connect package that was down but was not told why

    4. #3
      hmspilky's Avatar
      hmspilky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: topsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      my has been off from 8 pm till now? A bit strange. wouldnt mind knowing why though and how many people were affected?

    5. #4
      Btcc22's Avatar
      Btcc22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      This was the cause of the problem:
      UKOnline - No capacity for IPStreamers to connect :: UK Online :: think broadband

      Connect users and UKO IPStream customers have to share the same network.

    6. #5
      TaikoSilenced's Avatar
      TaikoSilenced is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Havant
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      Any ideas about Unlimited and if this is same problem?

      Mines been dropping for the last 2 nights. Taken me 2 hours to post this.

    7. #6
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      TaikoSilenced
      Hi no that is not the same problem the connect package is a rebranded Bt product where as Sky Max/Unlimited is LLU completely different. A good idea is to start a thread and post your stats how long have you been with sky Broadband

    8. #7
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      I believe there are a few area codes on the offnet package that are experiencing intermittent issues as of recent. Then again, I haven't been in in a bit, so could be resolved by now. (Can't remember which area codes it was sorry). I'll update this later with the area codes for you if you wish.

    9. #8
      Statto's Avatar
      Statto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by User05 View Post
      I believe there are a few area codes on the offnet package that are experiencing intermittent issues as of recent. Then again, I haven't been in in a bit, so could be resolved by now. (Can't remember which area codes it was sorry). I'll update this later with the area codes for you if you wish.
      Hi, my connect was down last night, so I would be interested in seeing if my area code was effected. (I'm posting this from work)

      Thanks
      Package: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear DG834GT

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      it was an outage on pretty much ALL Connect users...meant to be fixed now though...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Broadband has been down for a few hour! Help!

      Was the reason as Btcc22 read on think broadband is BSkyB going to say anything or are they going to pretend it never happened the reason I want to know is because The DSL connection down/stream will drop the IPProfile on the line will drop and if you are lucky should resync after 72hrs but if the problem persists the connect monitoring equipment will think that there is a problem with each line and act on them individually which would mean capping everyone on connect who looses connection through no fault of their own.

      I'm passing on the information that was stated on the phone. All users on DSL6 and DSL3 (IPStream) would have connection issues due to there being no available BT Wholesale capacity left. They also mentioned that if you were lucky enough to make a connection without being dropped that it'd likely be extremely slow.
      I wonder how many times is this going to happen
      Sky IPStream users also suffered from the same outage.
      an invalid username or password error could be caused by there being no available slots left on the network. Once the connection was dropped, there was no getting back.
      If someone has any other idea`s or I am wrong I would be happy to know.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION