Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

    This is a discussion on Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; In that case this is pretty much all you're going to get....

    1. #11
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      In that case this is pretty much all you're going to get.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      why is that then when my attenuation off the chart on here says i should be getting btw 6.5 and 8meg?

    4. #13
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Also as a side question would be unlimited give me faster speeds?

    5. #14
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      why is that then when my attenuation off the chart on here says i should be getting btw 6.5 and 8meg?
      That's just an estimate, there are many factors that could effect the quality of your line, which is the issue here.

    6. #15
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      can i ask why you think thats all i will get....just dont understand all this very well..lol?

    7. #16
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Your noise margin, even from the test socket, is close to the target SNR so you don't have much capacity to increase your connection speed - in simple terms the higher the noise margin the more speed is potentially available.

      You could try changing your filters, the ones that come with the Sagem are pretty poor to begin with. Maybe buy some decent RJ11 cable - ADSL Nation LTD. . This might make an improvement but there's no guarantee..

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Quote Originally Posted by lynnwood1 View Post
      Also as a side question would be unlimited give me faster speeds?
      No, moving packages will not improve your stats. Even if you went onto 100mb package you line is still only capable of doing the speed it is at now.

      Think of it like a small car, it's maximum speed os 50mps, no faster. Stick it on the motorway with a 70mph limit, it will still only to the top speed of 50mph because that's all it can do.

    9. #18
      lynnwood1's Avatar
      lynnwood1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: denton burn
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: 02 standard
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      and switching isp to be wouldnt improve things and would my exchange DENTON BURN not get upgraded soon via bt and this fibre optic thingy..lol?

    10. #19
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Sky's network is fibre optic. Any upgrade that BT do at your exchange wont affect your broadband.


    11. #20
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can anyone please help analyse my data..would be really greatefull

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      Sky's network is fibre optic. Any upgrade that BT do at your exchange wont affect your broadband.
      I think the OP's referring to BT's fibre to the cabinet trial.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION