Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Problems with wireless sky

    This is a discussion on Problems with wireless sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When my gf is using our laptop it is a HP DV6-1120S A she has problems using firefox when playing ...

    1. #1
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with wireless sky

      When my gf is using our laptop it is a HP DV6-1120S A she has problems using firefox when playing world of warcraft, what happens is, she is fine playing the game and when she minimizies it she can not surf the net but wow is fine. Sometimes she can surf the web while wow is up no porblems and most of the time it just wont work. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      on another note, i am not 100% sure of my modem its the new black one that looks like a sky box, only had net bout 1 month now

    4. #3
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      Is your GF on her own account and router? or are you both on same account and router? Rather unclear.

      Enter 192.168.0.1 into your browser and enter when asked
      admin

      password sky

      This will tell you which router you have.

      Also what package is your GF on ?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      Looks like a bandwidth problem. Does the same thing happen with a wired connection?

      Post your stats to let us see how much bandwidth you have available.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      Hey guys just a quick reply, i am at work till wednesday i can post what u need then, but until then my GF uses my sky account broadband router i hav emy desktop wired into it and i dont have this problem. Will get you the rest of the details on wednesday during the day, thankyou for your patients

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      i hav emy desktop wired into it and i dont have this problem
      Are you using torrents or other P2P? This can severely eat into your bandwidth. Using wireless for gaming, even WoW is not really advised. It is possible a poor wireless signal is causing the problem, so get your gf to use a wire and see if the problem persists.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      I dont download when we are both no the web, i also play wow at the sametime usually, what stats do u guys need??? I have got my gf to copy and past the entire page to me in a email and want to know what to put up here lol.

      Thankyou for all your help.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      What we need is the result you get when you go into the router status and click the 'Show Statistics' button. It should show the connection speeds, attenuations and noise margins

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      This an example of what stats we are looking for in the main

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 1106:12:04

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 44575442 78991036 0 0 0 1106:10:56
      LAN 79237779 44802165 0 0 0 1106:12:04
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13077 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 16.1 db
      Noise Margin 4.3 db 11.5 db

    11. #10
      Kovacss's Avatar
      Kovacss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with wireless sky

      well i hope this is what you guys need lol, any thing else let me know and thankyou again for your help.

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 132:44:15
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3554815 4599420 0 2160 225 103:28:21
      LAN 100M/Full 4302039 3959856 0 8254 3448 132:44:11
      WLAN 11M/54M 302483 248022 0 1024 207 56:04:52
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17021 kbps 752 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15 db 3.5 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 8 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION