Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Is my Sky Max being limited?

    This is a discussion on Is my Sky Max being limited? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys I signed up to Sky's Max package 2 weeks ago, at first things were great, my router synced ...

    1. #1
      AliC's Avatar
      AliC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is my Sky Max being limited?

      Hi Guys

      I signed up to Sky's Max package 2 weeks ago, at first things were great, my router synced at around 2.5meg and things were alot better than with my crappy Supanet account before sky.
      I expected my sync speed to eventually go up but instead its gone down, not only that but my d/l speeds have dropped from a solid 2meg to about 0.4mbps and pings have sky rocketed to around 300ms (all from speedtest.net)
      Ive tried waiting a few days and rebooting the router to solve the problem but to no avail.
      Im going to phone sky but wanted to get you guys advice first on what to do. Not only should my line be a solid 2meg at least, but am i right in saying it should probably be able to sync at 4meg just fine?
      Heres my stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2042 kbps 746 kbps
      Line Attenuation 61 db 37 db

      thanks, Ali


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      You have a very high attenuation which means you will not get a lot of speed. We really need to see your noise margin to see if you have anything in hand. DLM will have run on your line and may have left it syncing a bit lower than necessary.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      AliC's Avatar
      AliC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      thanks for reply, excuse my ignorance but not sure how to find out the noise margin on the Sky Netgear V2 DG934G
      note: ive tried testing at Test Result but i keep getting the 'server busy' message

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      the noise margin is the next line down where you got those first stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      The BT Performance tester will not work with an LLU connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      AliC's Avatar
      AliC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      the noise margin is the next line down where you got those first stats...
      Ahh sorry, im on firefox on my mac and for some reason it doesnt render the full page properly. After a bit of browser playing ive found them though
      Line Attenuation 61 db 37 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 9 db

      I know these stats arent great and im not expecting miracles but surely my router could be syncing a bit higher than 2meg, possibly 3-4meg?
      a quick check of My Sky confirms that they have capped me at 2meg, most likely as a result of DLM, is it worth giving sky a call? What speed/tier would you guys recommend me asking them to try based on my stats?

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      you've been capped slightly, but not by a lot...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      Possibly may get another meg if your line is stable. Contact Sky and tell them you've improved your wiring and you would like CST to reconfigure your connection. They may increase the cap slightly maybe to 3-3.5 mbps or may not.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      If DLM has run, it probably has you on the ADSL2+ Mode. Some longer lines do not do so well on this and perform better on G.DMT. If you get a good support agent they might try you on this, which may increase your speed to 3+Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      AliC's Avatar
      AliC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is my Sky Max being limited?

      thanks alot for your help guys, i called sky and spoke to a really helpful guy and requested to try the line on G.DMT at about 3meg, took him 30secs to make the changes and all is running smoothly, he then recommended not to go any higher as it could instability which was fair enough.
      Not a huge increase but i feel im now getting the most out of my line which is great, couldnt have done it without your advice

      Cheers, Ali

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION