Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 36 of 36

    new conection and dlm

    This is a discussion on new conection and dlm within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme The test will come this evening when the lines get noisier. If you are lucky, your ...

    1. #31
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The test will come this evening when the lines get noisier. If you are lucky, your router will hold the connection if you are not, the drop in noise margin will disconnect it and it will reconnect at a lower speed.



      You are not the only one to discover how badly DLM can perform. It seems to be so finely set that the least problem with the line causes it to reduce the speed. There is a chance you got straight through to CST, unless they have given more responsibility to Tier 1 to take some of the pressure off CST.
      possibly could of got staright through to cst, but this guy was in a call center in a different country, hope i dont have anybother tonight with the noise, ill post back and let you know mate


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      but this guy was in a call center in a different country,
      Unlikely to be ex-CST then. Did he tell you he was offshore? Sky actually employ a lot of 'foreign' sounding agents in this country.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #33
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      I know in one call centre, they're understaffed at the moment and some tier 1 team leaders are even taking calls. Could have possibly gotten through to a TL with LAMA access (but I think it's only read-only?)

    5. #34
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      he never told me he was in differnt county, but im 100% he was i could just tell, and could hear his fellow workers with similar accents, unless he was able to "type" to tier 2 somehow or instant message.

      this is the second time ive had to contact sky, first time was few years ago at old house, they had me on gmt and refused to put me on adsl2+ even though i was much closer to exchange as i am now, customers should not have to do this, i take pitty on other users in same position as i was.

      also unsure why sky didnt just open up the full 24meg service and be done with it
      Last edited by lee2007; 13-08-09 at 08:36 PM.

    6. #35
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      right, connection has stayed stable, checked the router and its never dropped out all night, noise margin did drop to 4ish but router seems to be able to handle this.

      at later date i might get sky to investigate this more, but i have a feeling they would just lower the speed rather then look into the actual problem, which i dont want.

      ive just powered off the router as i was dooing some painting around the wall socket, fired up the router and now the speed has increased yet again to the following:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15547 kbps 1022 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 8.0 db

    7. #36
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new conection and dlm

      There isn't any problem. It looks like you have been given an 'open' connection speed. ie, it is not capped, if it is, it is to a speed above that which you are likely to get. The speed you are syncing at is very good for your attenuation, just don't try to fix it it is not broken. Let the router do it's job and it will settle to the best stable speed you can get. It may be a bit lower than it is now, but not by much.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION