Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    auto ip switcher

    This is a discussion on auto ip switcher within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok i portforwarded something called rsps but i keep having to redo it cos my ip automatically switches...how do i ...

    1. #1
      crazy skybox's Avatar
      crazy skybox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: dont know
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      auto ip switcher

      ok i portforwarded something called rsps but i keep having to redo it cos my ip automatically switches...how do i fix this so it doesnt change?i mean by..my ip is 90.196.98.198 one day and something different the next :S please help me!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: auto ip switcher

      Quote Originally Posted by crazy skybox View Post
      ok i portforwarded something called rsps but i keep having to redo it cos my ip automatically switches...how do i fix this so it doesnt change?i mean by..my ip is 90.196.98.198 one day and something different the next :S please help me!!
      Perhaps if you gave some details of what rsps is might help?

      Edit! I remember you! Bet your still messing trying to port forward Uttorrent am I right?

      I suspect you still have not moved forward.

      Your IP is dynamic which means if you log off or unplug your router, then next time you connect you will receive an new IP address.

      One solution is don't turn off your router. My router has currently been up for 967 hours and still the same ip address.

      System Up Time: 967:01:42
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 37327107 66538247 0 0 0 967:00:34
      LAN 66790645 37541798 0 0 0 967:01:42
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 0:00:00
      Last edited by joss; 05-08-09 at 06:42 PM. Reason: added responce

    4. #3
      crazy skybox's Avatar
      crazy skybox is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: dont know
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: auto ip switcher

      what about when i turn my computer off?

      what about if i have 2 other pc's using it and they disconnect?


    5. #4
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: auto ip switcher

      Quote Originally Posted by crazy skybox View Post
      what about when i turn my computer off?

      what about if i have 2 other pc's using it and they disconnect?

      Nothing to do with turning off your computer!! So long as you leave your router powered and turned on it will, unless it losses the connection, retain the ip address.
      I have 4 pc here the router is never turned off save for maintenance.

      The IP address sky give you is separate from your routers internal IP address range usually starting with 192.168.0.2. the router being 192.168.0.1 and so on up to 192.168.0.255.

      So If i give you an example of say set your router internal ip addresses in order.

      Router = 192.168.0.1
      PC 1 = 192.168.0.2
      PC 2 = 192.168.0.3
      PC 3 = 192.168.0.4
      Allocate each computer its own ip via router interface.
      By doing this it matters not what your Sky external IP address is the router will always keep the same internal IP address for the likes of Utorrent etc.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: auto ip switcher

      i mean by..my ip is 90.196.98.198 one day and something different the next :S please help me!!
      As Joss says, give your PC a fixed IP. The easiest way to do this is to log into the router, go to the LAN setup and reserve your present IP address. Each time you log on you will get this address, so put it into your port forwarding.

      If it is your external IP that is causing the problem, this should not happen with P2P or Torrents, then you will have to use a Dynamic address. To do this go to DynDNS.com: Free DNS Hosting, E-mail Delivery, and VPS Hosting and sign up. This is the easiest one to useas it is the default used by the router (and it's free) . When you have signed up, go to the Dynamic DNS link in the router setup and enter the details.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION