Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

    This is a discussion on Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This is probably a stupid question but with the Sky 20mb Unlimited Broadband, do they use Fibre Optic for their ...

    1. #1
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      This is probably a stupid question but with the Sky 20mb Unlimited Broadband, do they use Fibre Optic for their internet services?
      I was just wondering this because my Father has decided to change from Virgin to Sky and I wondered whether they're up to date with the cabling?

      Thanks
      Matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is online now Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      No, its not a stupid question, just because you dont know something doesnt make it stupid to ask. Skys 20 meg service is over normal copper phone wires from the exchange to the house. Their main backbone, ie the main pipes that channel the broadband up and down the country will be fibre optic. I think they have in the region of 11 of these which connect the major cities. From there to some exchanges it may also be fibre but the bit from the exchange to your house is copper phone line ( or in some cases aluminium )

      I would also add that it is an upto 20 meg service and what you will actually get is dependent on the length of the line from the exchange to your house.


    4. #3
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      From the exchange to your fathers home will be over a good old fashioned BT copper phone wire.
      It was upto date 100 years ago.
      From the exchange onwards it will use Sky/Easynets fibre based network.

      Sadly this last copper section Eg the telephone wire will determine the speeds avalible.

      Although is sold as "up to 20mb" speed could be anything from 2mb-20mb.
      Its nothing like Virgin cable in this respect.

      Speed will be dependant on
      1)how close hes lives to the exchange
      2)how good the line is (physcially/interference etc etc)
      3)the state of the wiring in his house

      If he's lucky He may live near an exchange and get good speeds, if not ah well... its cheap

      You can use this SamKnows Broadband - Availability - Exchange Search
      pop in his postcode and it will tell you how near the exchange he is.
      If he already has a BT line you can check to see what the estimated speed would be on various sites inc Sky sign up page and BT BT Total Broadband speed test – get up to 8Mb download speeds!

      Good luck
      Last edited by slickric21; 05-08-09 at 12:48 AM.

    5. #4
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      Thank you for your replies =]

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      Payne6661
      Hi Matt I see the walsall exchange has LLU is that the exchange your father is on if so everything should be all right but make sure the package is LLU (Local Loop Unbundling)

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      Also, just to clarify a common misunderstanding regarding Virgin cable. This is fibre optic only as far as their streetside cabinet, The cable distributed from there into your home is copper coax.

    8. #7
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      Quote Originally Posted by neilmcl View Post
      Also, just to clarify a common misunderstanding regarding Virgin cable. This is fibre optic only as far as their streetside cabinet, The cable distributed from there into your home is copper coax.
      This always crops up but theres still a Big difference thou betwenn Cable and ADSL.

      It uses shielded co-axial cable (which has a copper coating) from the streetside cabinet to the home.
      This is far less susceptible to interference and has a negligble effect on speed.

      This is why Virgin can advertise as having fibre optic broadband.

      Good read here on it
      Virgin Media Ltd

    9. #8
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky 20mb Unlimted Broadband use Fibre Optic?

      Well we live about 4 miles away from Walsall and I've checked a link a someone provided and the exchange is only down the road so I'm hoping everything would be okay.

      Thank you again for all your replies they've been very helpful.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION