Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    Broadband Problems

    This is a discussion on Broadband Problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey all, Ive recently moved to a new propery and got the Sky Broadband Max package. It is working fine ...

    1. #1
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Problems

      Hey all,

      Ive recently moved to a new propery and got the Sky Broadband Max package. It is working fine but at random times during day and night the downstream will fall to literary nothing, i mean from 3,000 k/s downstream to 10 k/s or even 0 k/s however this never effected the upstream which always stayed around 700 k/s even when the downstream is nearly nothing. The weird thing about all of this is that when i log onto the router it shows no change in the donwstream or upstream in statistics however the speedtest.net shows otherwise.

      This has been driving me insane for the last two weeks, and i have no idea what i can do. The setup is fine, connected to the master socket (which doesnt have a test socket) with an ethernet cable. Sky support didnt help much, they played with the settings, said that the phone line cant handle the speed, reduced me now to 3.5k from 5k and the problem is still here. The last thing that they said is that the problem is "probably" with the router so they are sending me a new one.

      Does this situation sound familiar to anyone? or atleast can i have some different opinions on this matter please!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Can you post your full stats please
      How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems



      At the moment the connection is working fine:


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      You are quite heavily capped, if you have been connected for more than 2 weeks phone Sky and ask them to trouble-shoot your line for speed. Unless you have a bad line they should be able to up your speed by a couple of Mbs at least.

      If you are using speedtest.net to check your connection you are wasting your time. It is the most inconsistent tester around. If you must use a speed test, use the Skyuser one, Just click the Speed Test link on the forum menu bar.

      Measuring your download speed with a large file from a fast server, like MS, is the best way to get an idea of your speed.

      Open your Master socket and disconnect the wire from Terminal 3. It is not required and can cause problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Just did the SkyUser speed test:

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky. Your download speed is 2992Kbps. Your upload speed is 655Kbps

      Isitme: Ill give sky a call and see if they can increase the line, but they capped it because of the continius disconects about which i was calling.

    7. #6
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Here it goes again, after 15 min of loading a page i get:

      We have detected that your ISP is Sky. Your download speed is 47Kbps. Your upload speed is 659Kbps

      Router Stats:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3584 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 14 db 9 db

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Post your stats now it is hanging.

    9. #8
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Stats while hanging :


    10. #9
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      P.S. Although speedteest is unreliable it still shows the symptoms:



      Also I have removed the Terminal 3 Wire.

    11. #10
      lenucci's Avatar
      lenucci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LORDS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      London
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems

      Well the downstream droped at 8:50 Now its 10:53 and i just got it back...


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION