Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    What can my line handle?

    This is a discussion on What can my line handle? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Stats:- Connection Speed : 12479 kbps DS 671 kbps US Line Attenuation : 32.0 db DS 18.9 db US Noise ...

    1. #1
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What can my line handle?

      Stats:-

      Connection Speed : 12479 kbps DS 671 kbps US
      Line Attenuation : 32.0 db DS 18.9 db US
      Noise Margin : 12.6 db US 17.0 db US

      Sky recently dropped my connection speed (after a couple of years trouble-free service) because I started to get lost connections.

      I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what my line should realistically handle.
      I live quite close to the local exchange (approx 3/4 of a mile).

      Edit : just noticed the stats in my sig. No longer getting that speed; more like 8-9 Mb down and 550Kb up

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      Your line should give 13-14Mb, but the fact that you have been capped to stabilise it means there is a fault somewhere causing noise on the line. Have you tried it in your Test socket, if not try it there and post your stats. Link below.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      Whith the router (and nothing else) connected to the Test socket stat as follows:-

      Connection Speed : 12479 Down 671 Up
      Attenuation : 32.0 Down 18.8 Up
      Noise Margin : 9.8 Down 18.5 Up

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      If that is from your test socket then it looks like the problem is with your external line. Are all your extensions dead when you remove the Master faceplate? Do you have any problems with your voice line?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      Apologies - I forgot that my router was at the end of an extension cord with a filter connected + the sky+ box. Rectified that and connected the router directly to the test socket. Stats:-

      Conn : 12479 Down 671 Up
      Att.: 32.0 Down 18.8 Up
      Noise Margin : 13.1 Down 17.0 Up

      I assume it's the Noise margin that's significant since it's the only one that seems to change. Is higher or lower better?

      Never had any problems with the telephone.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      The higher the noise margin the better. Anything above 7dbs is potential sync speed. Your present figure indicates that you should get 14mbs uncapped. However the fact that the cap is there means something is causing the noise margin to drop below the default of 7dbs. This could be an intermittent fault, which makes it very difficult to detect.
      It may not be, but I suspect the extension you are using could be causing the problem. What I suggest is that you keep the router plugged into the Test socket and phone Sky to have your speed increased. Tell them you have made improvements to your wiring which may have caused the previous problem. If they are able to give you a stable speed of around 13-14 Mb, this will confirm the extension as the culprit. Other arrangements can then be made to your wiring.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      Thanks, I'll give that a go.

    9. #8
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      Something wierd has happened. I put my setup back the way it was but now my down connection speed has dropped to 10440

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      If your noise margin has also come down then I think it confirms the extension is the problem. Remember your Sky+ must be connected through a filter.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What can my line handle?

      My latest stats are:-
      10440 Down 671 Up
      LA 35.5 Down 21.6 Up
      NM 10.4 Down 15.0 Up

      Unfortunately in removing the rather stubborn extension cord from the front plate, I seem to have damaged the plate. I currently have the extension and modem, plus our home phone (filtered) connected to the test socket.
      I haven't yet reconnected the sky+ box.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION