Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

    This is a discussion on Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm currently waiting on my Sky broadband to be installed along with my phone line with them. I was ...

    1. #1
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Hi, I'm currently waiting on my Sky broadband to be installed along with my phone line with them. I was just wondering as the main computers in the house are upstairs and I was wondering if they would install the main wires for the internet upstairs because this is where they will get the most use and considering the phone is downstairs and a considerable distance away from the main computers I don't want to run my computers wirelessly as I won't get a good connection or get the most out of the speeds that I'm paying for, therefore I wish to go direct from the router to my computer so I can get the maxiumn speeds possible. So I was wondering if they will run the wires externally around the house so that they can come through a hole on the outside into the room with the computers and then have the main router up there so I can have run wires to my computer using the ethernet ports?

      This is a major issues that I'm worried about as I use the internet a lot upstairs and I require the speeds I'm paying for.

      Please Help!

      Thanks
      Matt
      Last edited by Payne6661; 04-08-09 at 01:18 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Do you have an existing BT line to the poperty ? If so Sky will just change the connection at the exchange and you will be stuck with wherever the existing master socket is now. If that is the case then you have a couple of options :-
      1 Run a dedicated adsl extension from the master socket to the preferred position of the router.
      2 Use homeplugs.

      If there is no line to the house and a new one is being intalled then you may have a chance of getting it to where you want it. I'm not sure of the t&c's but you may have to pay extra if its a long run of cable around the house.


    4. #3
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      If you have to have the phone connection nowhere near your PC's you could always invest in a set of homeplugs.

      These things turn your houses electrical wiring into ethernet cables and work a treat.

      I use these ones from Amazon (as the Netgear ones broke)

      Max Value 85 Mbps Home Plug Double Unit Pack: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics & Photo

      As they are ethernet you can use normal ethernet switches at the PC end which cost about a tenner.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    5. #4
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Thank you for your replied, the connection is going to be a new one so currently there is no BT socket in the house.

      Could you please tell me how these home plugs work please?
      Thank you again.

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Homeplugs network using your properties electrical wiring. You plug 1 unit into a powersocket adjacent to the router and the other adjacent to the pc you wish to network. An ethernet cable then connects each powerplug to its respective device.
      Theres quite a few different manufacturers, this should tell you a bit more.
      homeplugs - Google Search


    7. #6
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Sorry to keep asking questions but I don't get how that works when the computers and the phone socket are not going to be anywhere near each other so that I would either have to run a massive Ethernet cable to the homeplug?

    8. #7
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Quote Originally Posted by Payne6661 View Post
      Sorry to keep asking questions but I don't get how that works when the computers and the phone socket are not going to be anywhere near each other so that I would either have to run a massive Ethernet cable to the homeplug?
      You have two homeplugs. One in the nearest socket to your router and connected via ethernet and the other one plugged in to a socket near your PC, which can be anywhere in your house, that'll also in turn be connected via ethernet to the PC. As Aleksandr says "SImples".

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Here is a FAQ on Homeplugs which may help -
      FAQ's (Frequently asked questions)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Payne6661's Avatar
      Payne6661 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01543
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Thank you again for all your replies. Expect more when the installation has taken place. Wish me luck.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Currently waiting for my Sky Broadband to be installed, Please Help!

      Good luck


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION