Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New Sky MSANs

    This is a discussion on New Sky MSANs within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Interesting one this... ... As you may know the Sky / Easynet DSLAMs are made by Globespan and are based ...

    1. #1
      izools's Avatar
      izools is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky MSANs

      Interesting one this...

      ... As you may know the Sky / Easynet DSLAMs are made by Globespan and are based on Conexant chipsets.

      ... So before I went live on Sky I bought myself a Billion 7402NX which is also based on the same Conexant chipset used in the Globespan DSLAMs to ensure I got the best possible speed out of the line.

      ... Because I'm a new subscriber taking up ADSL and Line Rental, I was placed on the new Fully Unbundled MSAN service.

      ... And guess what? The new MSANs are showing up as BDCM (Broadcom) not GSPN (Globespan) in my router status information.


      I guess this is good in one respect, in so much as the Sagem F@st will be a very good router for use with the new fully unbundled service, as that is based on a Broadcom chipset, too.

      Not good for me though, I've just spent 150 on a router that performs worse on the ADSL Connection side of things than the bundled Sky router.

      Ah well; someone had to be guinea pig :P


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Maybe that's why they bind you to their router in the T&C's

    4. #3
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      I'll be happy to swap you my sagem

    5. #4
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Izools I know its been discussed on another forum, but is your info the same for all users ?

      I like you recently switched to Sky (from UKO) and took Broadband and Sky talk.
      Broadband went live on the 8th July, Sky talk on the 16th.

      I'm still connected to an old Globespan chipset as my Billion 7402nx syncs very much higher than my Sagem & DG834Gt.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      took Broadband and Sky talk.
      Unless you also have Sky Rental you will not be switched to the new network.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      where'd you get MSAMs from, Sky's new ones are ISAMs...unless the MSAMs are voice/data and ISAM just data...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Unless you also have Sky Rental you will not be switched to the new network.
      I didn't know there was a difference, my mistake.

      Sky took over my line - as of 16th July and so I pay my line rental to Sky now.

      Hopefully because I live in backwards Norwich they won't "upgrade" my exchange with the new kit in the near future
      Izools is on a very busy exchange in Exeter I think, so maybe he thats whys hes been done, larger more importnat exchanges first etc etc

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      where'd you get MSAMs from, Sky's new ones are ISAMs...unless the MSAMs are voice/data and ISAM just data...
      iirc

      MSAN = generic name, Multi Service Access Node

      ISAM = Alcatels product name for the MSAN that Sky use




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      izools's Avatar
      izools is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Maybe that's why they bind you to their router in the T&C's

      Yeah cheers mate.

      Anyway the Sky Netgear DG934G is based on the TI AR7, which is widely accepted as appauling for use with Broadcom DSLAMs / MSANs.

      A 3rd party router like a Netgear DGN2000 or Thomson TG585n (these are Broadcom based) would be ideal matches for Sky's new MSAN equiptment if, like me, you want to get the best out of your line and also want an N wireless network without a very messy and impractical Dual-NAT setup.

      Re: MSAN / ISAM

      MSAN is a generic term applicable to a node that delivers more than one service, in this case Voice and ADSL.

      MSAN - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      ISAM, as matey just found out, is just Alcatel's branding for their range of MSANs; so the terminology used is correct.

      The only people that will end up on a Broadcom MSAN are those who:

      1. Are in an LLU exchange that is having MSANs added
      2. Pays their line rental to Sky
      3. Also has ADSL with Sky
      4. Has not opted out of the service "updates"

      It will be a gradual migration process and started today for existing customers.

      And yes, Exeter is a very busy exchange. 7+ LLU providers and circa 40,000 subbies

      Better get my 7402NX on eBay then and grab a hold of a Broadcom based router!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky MSANs

      Hopefully because I live in backwards Norwich they won't "upgrade" my exchange with the new kit in the near future
      You can opt out of being transferred, you should have received this information in a letter from Sky. Possibly included with the Sky Rags, sorry Mags, which hardly anyone reads. You will have to do it soon as when you are connected you are assumed to have agreed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION