Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

    This is a discussion on DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have the free ADSL from Sky, since its so slow. The connection was syncing at 1536 Kbit Down, and ...

    1. #1
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DG834GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      I have the free ADSL from Sky, since its so slow. The connection was syncing at 1536 Kbit Down, and 320 Kbit up. I was trying to get a faster connection so I flashed the router with the official Netgear firmware, at first the flash failed. I ended up with a router with no firmware, I managed to complete the flash due to a hack I found on the net.

      The router did sync after the flash, the morning after I flashed the router there appeared to be no ADSL on the line. After a while I realized that it might be the router that is not picking up the ADSL, so I used another router. The other router did pick up the ADSL, and the DG834GT does not pick up ADSL on another line.

      It appears that the router is not picking up the ADSL, there no green Internet light on the router and its not syncing. I have tried lots of different firmwares, including the official sky firmware. When I was using the official Netgear firmware, I did extract the username and password, and I reentered it along with changing the settings to 0\38, after pressing the reset button.

      Is there anything that I can do to get it to sync, or is it a hardware failure?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      It's not hardware failure, it;s cutomer failure

      Have you tried a full reset (hold the rreset down for 10 secs) or putting the Sky firmware back on it that comes on the Sky disc?

    4. #3
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      The Base package is up to 2Mb. Your syncing at 1.5Mb. Just how much faster were you planning on going?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Another half meg

    6. #5
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Yes I have tried the reset button, and I didn't know it was only 2 Mbit. I use to have upto 16 Mbit but the speed was the same, and since I have another connection, which is 7616 at the same address on another line, I never used the Sky Internet.

      I have tried the 10 second reset again, and it didn't do anything.

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connecting
      DownStream Connection Speed 0 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 0 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Did you put in the correct username and password?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Yes, I think so, and when the router has the sky firmware that is done automatically. Even if its hasn't got the right username and password, it should still pick up ADSL on the line.

    9. #8
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Quote Originally Posted by Dark Light View Post
      Yes, I think so, and when the router has the sky firmware that is done automatically. Even if its hasn't got the right username and password, it should still pick up ADSL on the line.

      Bounce it off the wall a few times that might work lol..

      It sounds like the flash that you have put on the router has more or less killed it to a certain extent.

      As you have already said the other router sync up no problem at all so it sounds like the router is stiffed.

    10. #9
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      So is it a hardware problem, or a software problem. If it is a hardware problem I could open it up and see is its all OK, or if its a software problem is there anything I can do?

    11. #10
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      If it is a hardware problem you can open it up and have a look at the modem and see if there is anything out of the ordinary, if it is software then really the only thing you can do is flash the Sky Firmware on it and see if that works, but really to me it sounds like the router is dead.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION