Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 28

    DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

    This is a discussion on DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have flahsed the router with Sky, Netgear and unoffical firmwares. How do you open it up and are there ...

    1. #11
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      I have flahsed the router with Sky, Netgear and unoffical firmwares. How do you open it up and are there any pics on the net, so I can see what it should be.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      If you have flashed it with the Sky Firmware then it is safe bet that the router is dead and I personally wouldnt waste any time opening it up.

    4. #13
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Will Sky send me a new one, and if so can I choose which one I get?

    5. #14
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      It really depends to be honest, they could charge you for a new one as flashing the router with different firmware is a breach of the TOS. I suppose you could say that no lights are on the router that would be one way but it isnt always guranteed to work.

      Sky these days are sending out black sagems like this

    6. #15
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      The only reason why I flashed it in the first place was to try and change the SNR margin, since the sync is so low. On my other line that ADSL syncs at 7616 Kbit, and that line is at the same address. Since sky didn't help me at all over the past 2 years, I tried to increase my sync myself, by changing the SNR margin.

      The SNR margin on the Sky router was 27 down, and with the other router:
      Current Noise Margin: 17.0 dB (Downstream) 13.0 dB (Upstream)
      Current Attenuation: 35.0 dB (Downstream) 21.5 dB (Upstream)
      Current Output Power: 8.9 dBm (Downstream) 0.2 dBm (Upstream)

      It because of the bellwire on all the extensions that is causing the low sync, but thats not what this thread is about.

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      Just remove the bell wire

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      How do you open it up and are there any pics on the net, so I can see what it should be.
      You will be wasting your time. Fixing the hardware in a router needs specialist knowledge and if you don't even know how to open it, you do not have what is required. If you have to return the router for a new one it would be very obvious to the technicians that it had been interfered with and you may very well receive a bill.

      Your best bet is to try to return the router to Sky firmware by putting it into Flash mode and using the Recovery Utility Put it into Recovery mode by pulling out the power plug, hold in the reset button and still holding it in, push the power plug back in and hold it there till the power and tick lights flash alternately. Use the image file from your Sky disk to place in the Recovery folder. Follow the instructions in the link, to complete the process.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      It does have the Sky firmware on it, the lastest version, I think from this site.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      The only reason why I flashed it in the first place was to try and change the SNR margin,
      If you had come on the forum and said that before you flashed, you would have been told that reducing the noise margin on the router will not force a higher sync if the line is capped. If the router was syncing with a 27db noise margin, this means your line was heavily capped, as it would be on Base and should have been capable of syncing at 8-9 Mbs.

      The latest firmware version is V1.03.87, if it is the Sky version you have, you should see the Sky Test button on the Status page and there will be place to put in the username etc.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Dark Light's Avatar
      Dark Light is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG384GT Not Picking Up ADSL

      There is a test button, gets error code 100, and there is no place to enter the username and passowrd. I never knew that the line was capped, and the router synced at the same speed when I was on the max package.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION