Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

    This is a discussion on Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Just moved into a fairly old property, and had broadband set up through Sky. I opted for the ...

    1. #1
      tinners's Avatar
      tinners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Hi all,

      Just moved into a fairly old property, and had broadband set up through Sky. I opted for the Sky Unlimited package (20 meg).

      Here are my stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4091 kbps 510 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 30 db 22 db

      The BT line in the house is an old style master socket, as you can see here.

      I think i'm about 0.7miles from the exchange.

      Is there any hope for me getting a better speed?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      I think you will be getting nearer the 20mb mark once DLM training has finished.

      This is on all new lines and takes between 7-10 days do, speeds start at 4mb and work upwards during this time.

      Chances are you will wake in the morning to find much better speeds.

      Do not turn of the router until it is finished!!!!!

    4. #3
      tinners's Avatar
      tinners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      I thought this "training period" was for the non-LLU Connect service?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      did you get your letter saying when you went live? if so, read the bottom - it's on there...

      DLM was introduced end of last year - and since 22nd June the new start speeds are 1Mbps for Base, 3Mbps for Mid and 4Mbps for Max...should've been told at PoS as well...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      All Sky connections have training periods, Sky's LLU packages use DLM, Sky Connect which is actually a BT rebadged package uses BT's RAMBO.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Your photo is a junction box, not the Master socket. The Master should be the first one one the line from this junction. If it is the new type it will have a split across the face, link below. The old type has a cylinder capacitor and some other bits inside and will have wires on the faceplate only.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      tinners's Avatar
      tinners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Oh yeah whoops sorry took a photo of the wrong thing. The master socket is the old style though like this



      Yep you're right about the training period, silly me! I'll wait a week or so and see how it goes.

      Cheers!

      ps. is there generally much advantage of replacing your master socket with the new style ones? I hear its getting on to 200 for BT to do it, and they don't like you to fit them yourself.

      Also, I paid sky rather than bt for the phone line activation, which was 105 rather than BT's standard 124.99, as i have sky talk. Does anyone know if they do similar discounts on the new master socket replacement?

    9. #8
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      105??? did they have to come and change anything at your house? as im sure when i had my line just activated it was well under that around 10 - 30 pounds. I'd have to check but was no where near that much

    10. #9
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      You may have Sky's line rental but it's still BT who manage the line into your house. If you can get hold of an official NTE5a sockect, there are some on a certain auction site, I would doubt that any visiting BT engineer would notice or care that you've fitted it yourself. The general consensus seems to be that BT will rarely do anything about this. The choice is yours.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Wait and see if you need one first and if you do, buy your own and do it yourself, it is only two wires and takes a couple of minutes.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION