Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

    This is a discussion on Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah the standard price is 124.99 from BT to either install a new line, or reconnect a dead one (if ...

    1. #11
      tinners's Avatar
      tinners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Yeah the standard price is 124.99 from BT to either install a new line, or reconnect a dead one (if there's been no active line for greater than 12 months i think). Its an absolute joke but i had no alternative as virgin don't have cable in the area.

      Oh, and its Openreach not BT who manage the connections, and i *think* them and BT are separate companies now.

      I'll consider the new socket if i'm not satisfied with the speed when its properly up and running.

      Thanks for your help.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by tinners View Post
      Oh, and its Openreach not BT who manage the connections, and i *think* them and BT are separate companies now.
      No, Openreach is BT.

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      BT are several companies, BT Retail who supply phone and broadband services, BT Wholesale, who supply BT Retail and all the other ISPs with the phone/broadband services and BT Openreach who are the engineering company responsible for installing and maintaining the services. All are separate and distinct companies who operate under the umbrella of the BT Group PLC.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      I'll consider the new socket if i'm not satisfied with the speed when its properly up and running.
      Do you have extensions hardwired to the Master socket feeding boxes in other rooms? If you don't, then an NTE5 will make no difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      BT are several companies, BT Retail who supply phone and broadband services, BT Wholesale, who supply BT Retail and all the other ISPs with the phone/broadband services and BT Openreach who are the engineering company responsible for installing and maintaining the services. All are separate and distinct companies who operate under the umbrella of the BT Group PLC.
      Which is what I said

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Which is what I said
      Openreach is BT but BT is not Openreach, rather like a sore finger is a sore thing, but a sore thing is not a sore finger

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Or Openreach is a well manicured finger, but BT Retail is a well chewed and bashed up digit.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Or Openreach is a well manicured finger, but BT Retail is a well chewed and bashed up digit.
      Not in the least biased, are you Brian.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      tinners's Avatar
      tinners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rusholme
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      Hi,

      The statistics seem to have settled on the following.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 14333 kbps 1030 kbps
      Line Attenuation 21 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 8 db

      Think this is ok?

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved house - Sky Unlimited Broadband

      It looks like you could get a better download. Phone Sky and ask them if they can configure it for you. DLM seems to be very strict in its settings, very often leaving a line slower than it need be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION