Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router and Acer Netbook within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been tearing my hair out for a week or so over a problem with my wireless connection, BUT having ...

    1. #1
      theoldbill's Avatar
      theoldbill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      I've been tearing my hair out for a week or so over a problem with my wireless connection, BUT having just worked out the answer I thought I would post it here for anyone experiencing similar problems.

      I did have a Netgear Router that worked well for about four years but the wireless adapter went kaput and Sky very kindly sent me a new one, but it was a black Sagem one.

      I had mixed success connecting wirelessly for the first few days with both my Acer Aspire One netbook and my wife's Dell laptop (work laptop). In the end both gave up the ghost and neither would connect wirelessly.

      I searched through the router config screens and rang Sky tech support who just told me that they did not support Linux on the netbook. It was really doing my head in and I was ready to cancel and take broadband with someone else BUT I found a solution.............. I simply changed the channel number from Auto to Channel 11.

      Instant connection, no problem at all!

      Result!

      I'm just so pleased I wanted to share this in case it helps someone else out.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      this is a known issue with wireless on the Sagem, not just with your Netbook...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Exclamation Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      I also found that my Internet Radio needed the wireless mode changing to "54g LRS". Connected fine then!

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      If the OP had been on anything but linux he would have been told to switch from Auto, personally I would have mentioned it during the call and left it to him to sort with instructions.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      Changing the channel should be standard advice, I don't see what the OS has to do with it. The router configuration is the same, no matter what OS you are using.

      Maybe they have learned a lesson and when the next Firmware is issued they will stop making Auto the default

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      theoldbill's Avatar
      theoldbill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      I thought it was a bit "off" of the Sky rep just to dismiss me cos I said I was using Linux, I did contemplate ringing back and saying I had a Windows laptop in front of me and see where that got me, but obviously I sorted it in the end.

      On a side note I seem to find that the Sagem range isn't as good as the Netgear, theSagem won't connect from our bedroom (three storey house) where the Netgear would. I'm going to try moving the Sagem to the middle floor. I was suprised that it had no external antennae.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      Linux isn't a supported OS, nor is Windows 7...yet...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      Quote Originally Posted by theoldbill View Post
      On a side note I seem to find that the Sagem range isn't as good as the Netgear,
      Do yourself a favour, grab a couple of homeplugs, if you want, get one with a wireless access point built in and you can then just move it around the house as needed.

    10. #9
      theoldbill's Avatar
      theoldbill is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router and Acer Netbook

      I've got three Homeplugs already but no wireless one. I'm going to try moving the router to the lounge on the first floor and see if I can still get a good reception in the garden, if that doesn;t work I might look into a Wireless Homeplug.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION