Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    No wireless?

    This is a discussion on No wireless? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey there everyone, feeling in the mood to save me? Today I am unable to use my wireless connection, it ...

    1. #1
      shrkkk's Avatar
      shrkkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No wireless?

      Hey there everyone, feeling in the mood to save me?

      Today I am unable to use my wireless connection, it simply doesn't show up in the network list. Nothing had been changed at my end to cause this; I got home from work and .. the DG834GT hates me!

      The router status is showing me it is enabled and broadcasting. All other stats seem the same as ever, and running the Sky Test is even worse:
      The Sky Test was unable to detect the Internet connection
      Error code:200
      Well I'm sitting here typing this on a wired connection so that's obviously a load of ...

      I've restarted, reconnected, restored, and everything else you'd expect. I'm an IT professional so this (hopefully!) isn't a newbie error.

      Any suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      Error 200 is 'No IP' - which isn't right as you say as you're on the Internet using Ethernet...so no idea!!...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      shrkkk's Avatar
      shrkkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      It's also occasionally giving me 300, which makes equally little sense

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      It is probably a neighbour's network interfering, possibly one of those superduper high speed boxes BT are giving out. Try changing the channel on the router or better still download and use Inssider or Netstumbler, links below. These will show you the channels in use in your area, choose one as far from those in use as possible. The former is best if you are using Vista.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      shrkkk's Avatar
      shrkkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      Good suggestion, but I've tried that already too! There's only two other networks I can pick up from here and the signal here is weak.


      I'm tempted to smash the crap out the router; has anyone else tried this with positive results?

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      I must admit I fekkin hate wireless, but if you must use it then get on to Sky for a new router, and hook up a wireless access point to it.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      You could try resetting the router by pushing a biro into the little hole on the rear. This will reset it to the default Sky settings so if you have made any changes(password, firewall etc) save the setting before you reset it. Sometimes this corrects glitches that stop it working properly.

      If this does not work, unplug it from the mains, phone Sky and tell them there are no lights coming on in the router. They will send you a new one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      shrkkk's Avatar
      shrkkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      Done that too

      Do they not wait for you to send it back to them first? When my old NTL router died I lost out on a week 'cause of that.

      I foresee another wonderful phone call where someone instructs me in plugging a router in

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      Sky are more trusting, they will send the router out with a prepaid label to return the old one. Just tell them it is plugged in to the phone line and you are using the Test socket with a new filter. You may get one of the poorer V2 routers, but I think they try to replace like with like.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      shrkkk's Avatar
      shrkkk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No wireless?

      Okay, thanks for the help

      Out of curiosity, what puts the V2 router down?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION