Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

    This is a discussion on Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Back on with a broadband question Over a few months my connection becomes very erratic. I dont lose ...

    1. #1
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Hi all,

      Back on with a broadband question

      Over a few months my connection becomes very erratic. I dont lose connection, but ,the band width monitor shows a VERY varied graph.
      So I call BT (did this before and it is the culprit) for a look see at my line and to check its OK.
      Next day after the phone call, solid connection

      This has happend twice now. A few months later it will deteriorate back to the 'Himalaya' graph I had the other day.
      Ive been through all the connection trouble shooting (thats now perfect with comtrend plugs) Ive been through all the optimisations with Mognuts/TCP optimiser, thats all spot on. Now BT seems to be trying to chip bits off my bandwidth too


      Any thoughts on this?

      Thanks

      Fwog

      PS Cant get Mognuts to work any more. Is there a reason for this?
      Im using Chrome BTW


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Cant get Mognuts to work any more. Is there a reason for this?
      The stats part is working for me, except that after clicking the Get button it show an empty page, click the back button and then the Read button shows the stats. I already have some things set up with the CU firmware so I don't want to mess things up by trying the other options.

      I don't think BT will be reducing your speed, if your with Sky LLU they have nothing to do with the line. You had a bad problem with your line some time ago, it could be that the fault has returned.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Are you using wired or wireless?

    5. #4
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Quote Originally Posted by jamsterfrog View Post
      Ive been through all the connection trouble shooting (thats now perfect with comtrend plugs)

      Wired

      its definitely BT. Straight after the call for an engineers visit, the problem rectified itself. If its a re occouring problem, the bounds of possibility dont allow it to happen at the exact same time in the same way twice
      I thought there may be a new policy by BT for 'shaping' ?

      Somethings going on.

      Fwog

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      the bounds of possibility dont allow it to happen at the exact same time in the same way twice
      Lightning can and does strike the same place more than once. It is possible your fault has returned. As I said, apart from maintaining the line, BT have nothing to do with the broadband connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jamsterfrog's Avatar
      jamsterfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Earlsdon-CMEARD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD,x2 sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      56
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Ok, we beg to differ

      Well .Ive just cancelled the engineers call, and guess what's happened? the bandwidth has started to deteriorate

      Im having problems getting this resolved as when you talk to Sky they refer you to BT.

      Bt seem to have all their call centres in India, so explaining the ins-and-outs of this is a non-starter.

      Any way of getting this resolved once and for all?

      Cheers

      Fwog

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Quote Originally Posted by jamsterfrog View Post
      Any way of getting this resolved once and for all?
      Yes, get a BT engineer out and get him to fix the line properly.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Fluctuating d/l and u/p - BT at fault?

      Bt seem to have all their call centres in India, so explaining the ins-and-outs of this is a non-starter.
      You are wasting your time asking BT to fix broadband problems. Unless your voice line is also showing faults they will do nothing about it and simply refer you back to your ISP. The only way you can get broadband line faults fixed is through Sky, they are the only ones who can order a broadband check on your line. If your voice line is bad, pursue BT to get it fixed, that may also fix the broadband side.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION