Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Broadband speed not what i expected

    This is a discussion on Broadband speed not what i expected within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All I have the sky 20mb package and i live about 1/2 a mile from the exchange so i ...

    1. #1
      britishmeat's Avatar
      britishmeat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband speed not what i expected

      Hi All

      I have the sky 20mb package and i live about 1/2 a mile from the exchange so i should be syncing at about 19mb (i think) however i am only syncing at 9mb (see stats below), there is no difference in the Test Socket and i have tried to replace all of the filters and wires. I only have the one socket in my house and i am not using any extensions.

      I spoke to sky CST and they said they would send me a new router to try but if that was not any good then there would be nothing that they could do! They said that BT's Test Eqiupment only worked upto 8mb so if they sent them out then they would not be able to find anything wrong! Is this True???

      Any advice or reccomendations appreciated

      Ta

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 564 791 0 3405 17437 00:00:53
      LAN 100M/Full 319 0 0 413 0 00:02:26
      WLAN 11M/54M 1173 1088 0 8736 1811 00:02:13
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9575 kbps 668 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14 db 3.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 19 d


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      What do you have plugged into the Master socket along with your router?

    4. #3
      britishmeat's Avatar
      britishmeat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Sometimes house phone! but thats it!

    5. #4
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Connect to the test socket and repost your stats, details how to do this are below and on the back of the master faceplate make sure that there is no wire/s connected to terminal 3, make sure only terminal 2 & 5 are connected.

    6. #5
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Quote Originally Posted by britishmeat View Post
      Sometimes house phone! but thats it!
      Do you have your Sky box connected somewhere?

    7. #6
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Quote Originally Posted by Andy17 View Post
      Connect to the test socket and repost your stats, details how to do this are below and on the back of the master faceplate make sure that there is no wire/s connected to terminal 3, make sure only terminal 2 & 5 are connected.
      If there are no extensions he shouldn't have anything connected to the faceplate.

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Have you tried listening to the dial tone on your house phone. Your noise margin suggests that you have a very noisy line.
      You could try the BT quiet line test as well.
      Are you certain that there are no other cables connected to your master socket, Sky box as mentioned burglar alarm or hard wired extensions.

      Dial 17070, press option 2 (quiet line test)

      You should hear 'Quiet Line Test' and then silence, there should be no pops, clicks, whistles, buzzing etc. If there is noise on the line, make sure it's not your phones connection to the socket (wiggle it about a bit) and that you are using the master socket.


    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      The OP stats suggest there are line problems.
      Connection Speed 9575 kbps 668 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14 db 3.5 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 19 d

      Attenuation at 14db is brill however the SNRM of 7db screams line issues even though he lives close to the exchange. Sky SNR target is 6.9db so the OP isn't going to gain any more speed than what he currently has.

      Through Investigation is required firstly with the whole internal set-up.
      I do find this confusing from the OPs original statement and I quote.

      "there is no difference in the Test Socket and i have tried to replace all of the filters and wires. I only have the one socket in my house and i am not using any extensions." which seems somewhat contradictory.

      So from your Master socket where the BT drop wire enters your house. What do you have from that socket?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      The OP has posted on this before and has gone through all the usual checks. The conclusion in the other thread was that the external line was faulty. Only Sky or his line rental provider can help.
      Am i getting the right sync speed

      Just one further point, do you have another PC or laptop you can try?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband speed not what i expected

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The OP has posted on this before and has gone through all the usual checks. The conclusion in the other thread was that the external line was faulty. Only Sky or his line rental provider can help.
      Am i getting the right sync speed

      Just one further point, do you have another PC or laptop you can try?
      Thanks Isitme, I was not aware of the other thread. As I suggested its a line issue.
      thanks for the heads up.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION