Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

    This is a discussion on Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; By extensions I mean other phone outlet boxes wired direct to the Master socket....

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      By extensions I mean other phone outlet boxes wired direct to the Master socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      diamount's Avatar
      diamount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      I see, well everyting is correctly connected through a microfilter. *sigh* I never thought something as small as this would cause so much hassle. So there is no other alternative such as phoning them and asking them to perform the manual DLM thing? I dislike cancellations

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Do you have extensions hardwired to the master socket? If so, did you check that there was no dial tone on them when the faceplate of the master socket was removed?

      I should add that it is very unusual for Sky to overestimate the expected speed, more often than not it is underestimated.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Quote Originally Posted by diamount View Post
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1024 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 10 db 18 db
      Surely the Downstream Attenuation shouldn't be 4x the Upstream?

    6. #15
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Diamount, People are trying to help you here.

      If you have a skybox and a telephone line going into a box on the wall then you have an extension.

      Extensions are fine for voice and basic internet settings but with the more advanced ADSL connections any little error on the line can affect speed.

      Go to your main box, unscrew the bottom half. You should see another socket inside. Put the microfilter in there. Before chiecking your speed go around the house with a phone and plug it into the extensions. If there is no dial tone now you can check your speed.

      This test checks if it is an internal or external fault. Regardless of micro filter, old wires, trapped wires and other issues can cause interference. I had to re-run all my extension cables to get a better speed.

      If the above test does not make a difference then phone Sky and get them out. Without doing this first you risk a heave charge from an engineer.

      You might also want to try another microfilter on the test socket before you screw everything back together again.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #16
      Maxi's Avatar
      Maxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Biddulph
      Broadband ISP: Hoping it will work 2nd time round
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      It's not an issue with Sky, it is some for of problem with your line. It really shouldn't be at 63 if your only 2km away from your nearest exchange.

      With a line with that stats you would be very very lucky to get 2mb. I would do some testing as advised with the master socket, double checking that there is no linked extensions to your master socket (external and internal).

      If that fails, give BT a call and ask them why your line is coming up with these terrible stats.

    8. #17
      diamount's Avatar
      diamount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Quote Originally Posted by Maxi View Post
      It's not an issue with Sky, it is some for of problem with your line. It really shouldn't be at 63 if your only 2km away from your nearest exchange.

      With a line with that stats you would be very very lucky to get 2mb. I would do some testing as advised with the master socket, double checking that there is no linked extensions to your master socket (external and internal).

      If that fails, give BT a call and ask them why your line is coming up with these terrible stats.
      I am not 2km away, but 2 miles and I have checked everything twice already and nothing seems out of the ordinary guess I'll give BT a call to why I'm getting these terrible speeds and as I've said before the guy in the email said he set the limit to my line to 1mb without giving any explanation at all and has not replied to any of the emails I sent and why would BT help me when I am not a customer of theirs?

      Could you give me a precise number to contact them at?
      Last edited by diamount; 27-07-09 at 11:47 PM.

    9. #18
      diamount's Avatar
      diamount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      /sigh

      It seems regardless of what speed they give me, checking the line checker the max is just 1MB... so there is nothing I can do to increase the speed of my line instead of moving closer to the exchange?

      Anyway here is the image for you guys to look at:




      and that is indeed the max they've set me line to without editing My Sky to say otherwise....

    10. #19
      diamount's Avatar
      diamount is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Any advice guys and other alternatives?

    11. #20
      Quik0706's Avatar
      Quik0706 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT23
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Promised 4mb only getting 800kbps, absolutely flabbergasted

      Its more likely closer to 3 miles of cable running from the exchange than 2 since the cables dont go in a straight line.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION