Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Should I be getting better speeds?

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting better speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I was wondering if somebody would be able to interpret these stats from my router and tell me if ...

    1. #1
      Bigmonty's Avatar
      Bigmonty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Dunfermline
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I be getting better speeds?

      Hi

      I was wondering if somebody would be able to interpret these stats from my router and tell me if I should be getting better speeds? I am on Sky Broadband Unlimited.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.8 db 14.0 db

      As it shoud I am only getting just under 3mb and I don't know whether this is normal with these kind of stats.

      Many thanks in advance.


      Edit - I am connected via a faceplate splitrer on the master socket and its a relatively new house.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      With your line attenuation, you should be getting 16-12mb but with your noise margin you are lucky to be getting what you have.

      What spkitter are you refering to, if it is just a twin splitter to allow yopu to use the phone and Sky receiver then you must ensure that you have the ADSL filter plugged into the socket first, before anything else.

      What you need to do is remove the front face of the master socket and get the stats again form the test socket beneath (see sig for details).

      If you can post a photo of how you are currently setup, it will help.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      Sounds like Sky tv 2 way splitter onto socket and filter into one side of that. As Smithy says check your setup first as 9/10 this is the cause.

    5. #4
      Bigmonty's Avatar
      Bigmonty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Dunfermline
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      It is a faceplate on my master socket which splits the broadband signal from the phone signal. It allows me to have the the phone (or in this case my Sky HD box) plugged in and my ADSL router plugged in without the need filters in the house. I thought I read somewhere ages ago that this was just like plugging your ADSL router directly into the master test socket??

      Anyway I am about 4km from the exchange, I am assuing that these speeds are standard for this distance.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      Remove it and plug into test socket for direct testing with a clean filter. Post up the stats for comparison.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      The photos would be nice too.

      With the attenuation you have I'd be suprised if you are that far from the exchange.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      Anyway I am about 4km from the exchange,
      What router do you have? There was a bug in the original DG834GT which showed an attenuation of 15.5dbs, no matter what the actual figure was. I am wondering if you have this bug. Reset your router by pushing a biro into the little hole at the rear and hold it there for 10 seconds or until the lights flash. Take your stats and post them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting better speeds?

      isnt sky mids upload speed 416? u sure ur actually been setup on max ? i would phone sky up and ask them to check ur line stats as if u were on max u would be seeing anything from 764 upwards

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION