Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    How reliable is sky's availability checker?

    This is a discussion on How reliable is sky's availability checker? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky's website says I can get sky unlimited 20mb but samknows says sky has not unbundled my exchange (SDRYD). Would ...

    1. #1
      blahmister's Avatar
      blahmister is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDRYD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      Sky's website says I can get sky unlimited 20mb but samknows says sky has not unbundled my exchange (SDRYD). Would love to sign up to sky hd if iI can get the fast broadband but the cynic in me suggests that i'll end up with a phone call in a few days telling me I can only get sky connect and the website information is just bait to get me to sign up.

      Any help appreciated
      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      Sky is upgrading a lot of exchanges at the moment so Samknows may not be up to date.

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Sky is upgrading a lot of exchanges at the moment so Samknows may not be up to date.
      Are they, have you got a list?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      First I've heard of it...doubt it's true...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      blahmister's Avatar
      blahmister is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDRYD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      Anyway I can find out for sure before I get my MAC address? I dont want to end up migrating into sky connect by mistake.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      As Pual says, Samknows may not be up to date. It is bound to lag a bit behind real time. Your exchange has already been enabled by 4 other major ISPs and that seems to be the type that Sky enable. If the online checker says it is enabled, then it is probably true. If it were a sales person, I would take it with a pinch of salt.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      blahmister's Avatar
      blahmister is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDRYD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      Well, I took the plunge. Got connnected yesterday, dlm kicked in last night, my current stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 13311 kbps 1024 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 7.2 db
      Noise Margin 19.6 db 8.0 db

      Thanks for the help guys

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      You are looking good for the maximum download.

      Remember don't switch off your router till the training is complete, as it can knock your speed down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      blahmister's Avatar
      blahmister is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDRYD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      How often should the DLM be restarting my connection? So far I think it has only happened once, and that just changed up upload speed from 1024 to 998 with my download staying the same

      Connection Speed 13311 kbps 998 kbps
      Line Attenuation 16.0 db 7.3 db
      Noise Margin 19.0 db 8.0 db

      Router shows a wan uptime of almost 30 hours - is this normal?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: How reliable is sky's availability checker?

      How often your router reboots depends, I think, on how stable your line is. It looks like you still have about 4 Mb to go up. You might find that it suddenly shoots up overnight. Let DLM run its course and if you need it, you will get a manual configuration. Provided you are not experiencing sudden drops in the noise margin, like some are, you will be OK.

      It is a pity the neither the Sky router tool or Router Stats Lite will run on the Sagem router. If they did, you could check how your noise margin is holding up. I don't know of any application that will work with the Sagem, maybe someone does?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION