Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

    This is a discussion on Upgraded broadband, Need some advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I recently upgraded my sky broadband from the 8mb (Everyday) to 20mb (Unlimited) but the results seem worse. I ...

    1. #1
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Hello I recently upgraded my sky broadband from the 8mb (Everyday) to 20mb (Unlimited) but the results seem worse.

      I used to get the full 8mb with about 512k upload on the old package, but now my broadband has dropped to 7mb but the upload is better, the only problem is my online gaming did improve for a couple of days but now changed again, the ping on a server on average was 25ms, but now its around 45ms on Unlimited, on the Everyday package it used to be about 55ms, I was just wondering if there is a way I can get it back done to a nice 25ms for online gaming and maybe my download higher.


      Pinging jolt.co.uk [84.234.17.86] with 32 bytes of data:
      Reply from: 84.234.17.86 bytes=32 in 44 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 84.234.17.86 bytes=32 in 44 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 84.234.17.86 bytes=32 in 43 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 84.234.17.86 bytes=32 in 43 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 84.234.17.86 bytes=32 in 43 ms TTL=128

      Pinging bbc.co.uk [212.58.254.252] with 32 bytes of data:
      Reply from: 212.58.254.252 bytes=32 in 42 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 212.58.254.252 bytes=32 in 43 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 212.58.254.252 bytes=32 in 43 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 212.58.254.252 bytes=32 in 41 ms TTL=128
      Reply from: 212.58.254.252 bytes=32 in 42 ms TTL=128





      Your Line Check Results
      For Telephone No.: 01753*****
      Post Code: SL3 7RD


      Your Exchange Information
      Exchange: Slough Langley BT Code: THLL
      Location: High Street SL3 8JP
      Distance:- Direct: 0.29 mi
      (appx)*By Road: 0.4 mi
      Service Enabled On
      ADSL Enabled: March 31, 2000
      DSL Max Enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL Not enabled: No Info
      21CN due : (PSTN) No Info
      21CN WBC (Broadband) March 31, 2010

      Your BT Line Speed Estimation
      Fixed ADSL: 2048 (2 Mb)
      DSL Max: 6500 (6 Mb)



      So basicly the 7mb part isnt too bad, but if I had 25 ping on online gaming for like 3 days, im sure they can give me that all the time right? instead of 45.... Should I give sky a call?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      When did you upgrade to max? Your line will have DLM running on it for around 10 days to see what speeds it can handle (it starts at 4Mb and works it way up)
      If you log into your MySky account and go to "broadband services" it will show when DLM started and if it has finished.

      If its finished then log onto your router and post your stats like below:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16383 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 8.1 db
      Noise Margin 13.1 db 12.5 db

      I think DLM also alters your "Max Delay" setting which will have an affect on your ping, once DLM has finished if your ping is still higher than before you can request to have Max Delays dropped to 8 which gives me a ping between 20ms and 30ms to UK servers

    4. #3
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      the broadband services is unavailable apprently atm, I upgraded i think last wednesday or thursday, It did start off at 4mb, went up to 8mb, then down to 7mb.

    5. #4
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      just to the right of that message is there another saying line testing is in progress??

      Your stats show that you still have available noise margin to improve your speed so definately can handle a lot more speed.

    6. #5
      md_moore's Avatar
      md_moore is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      How freaky! A post just after mine from someone living about a mile away! I am in SL3 7GE. Give it about 5 days and I reckon you'll get to 12.2Mb like me...good yes, but NOWHERE near as good as o2....(see my post for an explanation).
      Marc.

    7. #6
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Oh lol how funny, 12mb would be very nice

      all I see is...

      Connection details
      Service unavailable
      Sorry, this service is currently unavailable. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.


      Service details
      Service unavailable

    8. #7
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      must not have updated for you yet, i'd give it a few more days and keep checking that page. 12Mb or more is probably a good estimate for final speed from your stats i think.

    9. #8
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Ok ko0l thanks

    10. #9
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Woow I connected 2day and its dropped to 6mb, its getting worse :\

    11. #10
      gareth86's Avatar
      gareth86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Quote Originally Posted by jhey View Post
      Woow I connected 2day and its dropped to 6mb, its getting worse :\
      You are on DLM, it should last some time around 10 days and during this time your speed will increase. Your router may re-connect a few times.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION