Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

    This is a discussion on Upgraded broadband, Need some advice within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok its been like 10 days now and im still stuck on 5mb...

    1. #11
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Ok its been like 10 days now and im still stuck on 5mb


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      If DLM is finished on your line, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line manually as DLM has left it crippled. You should see over 16Mb with your attenuation. While you are on ask them to reduce your delays to improve your ping. The best time to phone is after 10.30.pm.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Yeh I email'd them awhile ago about the delays and thats all good now

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      If your line is reconfigured for speed, it may knock out the delay setting. Better to check and get it all sorted at once.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      ok thanks mate will do

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If DLM is finished on your line, phone Sky and ask them to configure your line manually as DLM has left it crippled. You should see over 16Mb with your attenuation. While you are on ask them to reduce your delays to improve your ping. The best time to phone is after 10.30.pm.
      5Mbps is not 'crippled'
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      5Mbps is not 'crippled'
      Well it's less than a third the speed he should be getting, seems crippled to me.

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      but for that's fast!! but yeah, does need adjusting...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      jhey's Avatar
      jhey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley THLL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      Slough, UK
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      I emailed em and they have changed it for me, the Max delay doesnt seem to be as good, but not bad either, gone from 25ms pinging to 32ms, not too bad tbh (pinging bbc.co.uk)

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 17680 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 25.0 db 15.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 16.0 db

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,883
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: Upgraded broadband, Need some advice

      but for that's fast!! but yeah, does need adjusting...
      7 to 17.6!!! you can say that again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION