Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Sky BB Mid speeds

    This is a discussion on Sky BB Mid speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello. Got fed up of ringing and not getting anywhere, so I used the Kana form and got a quick ...

    1. #21
      conk2003's Avatar
      conk2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      Hello. Got fed up of ringing and not getting anywhere, so I used the Kana form and got a quick and helpful reply. Here is what they replied with.

      Dear Mr ?,

      Thank you for contacting Sky Help Centre.

      Upon checking your line found your connection speeds to the optimum your line can handle without dropout.

      Your connection speeds were as follows

      Port Status Up
      Trained In Download Speed 4096 Kbps
      Trained In Upload Speed 412 Kbps
      Configured Download Speed 4096 Kbps
      Configured Upload Speed 416 Kbps
      Max Attainable Rate Down 5036 Kbps

      The SNR was already set at 7db but may fluctuate on a daily basis

      ie from day to night.

      I hope this information has helped with your enquiry. If you require any further assistance, you can respond to my email.

      You can also contact our Customer Services team on 08442 41 41 41, where one of our advisors will be happy to help.

      Kind regards

      Sean

      Sky Help Centre


      Is this really the maximum my line can handle or are they just playing it safe so I dosent keep dropping out? Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      Quote Originally Posted by conk2003 View Post
      Is this really the maximum my line can handle or are they just playing it safe so I dosent keep dropping out? Thanks.
      Well if the line drops out when it has more, it cannot handle it

    4. #23
      conk2003's Avatar
      conk2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      Im not saying it does drop out. I wouldnt know because i've never had higher speeds but how would sky know if it isnt stable at higher speeds without raising the speed and trying it first?

    5. #24
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      If your NM is 7db then that is the Sky default and they will not go any lower as it can cause instability.

    6. #25
      conk2003's Avatar
      conk2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      Yes but if Sky have set it to 7db as they say they have, then why is my router showing around 12db? Surely it would report 7db if thats what sky had set it to? Thanks.

    7. #26
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      As they said, "The SNR was already set at 7db but may fluctuate on a daily basis" with a long line, you may see more then the normal 2-3db fluctuation as there is more chance of interference.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      I do not think Sky use the noise margin to set a 'line' if they did the sync speed would vary, not the noise margin. You speed has been capped at 4096 pure and simple. It looks like you have run into Sky's stone wall and will have to wait till your line is DLM trained to get any more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      conk2003's Avatar
      conk2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      Just to let you know. Sky have now set my line at 5632kbps which is about 1600kbps more than I was at before and the SNR is about 7.3db and has been very stable so far, so I am very pleased in the end.

      Thanks for your help.

    10. #29
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      as said, Sky very rarely change the SNR from 7 - instead they set the line speed manually...hence why you had a high SNR...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #30
      wonnyjilkinson's Avatar
      wonnyjilkinson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North of Watford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky BB Mid speeds

      I'm interested in reading this. Up until about 12 months or so ago, I was regularly connected at 5500kbps to 6000kbps. For some unknown reason (by that i mean ther has been no change to anything in my house) the predictable maximum connection speed I now get on SkyMid is 3350kbps. Would it appear that I've been capped? When I raised the slower connection with Sky, I got all kinds of excuses and eventually, just had to settle for the slower connection.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION