Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    Speed just dropped (DLM?)

    This is a discussion on Speed just dropped (DLM?) within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Recently (1 week ago) we just upgraded to Sky Unlimited due to this new Mid package usage limit! ...

    1. #1
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Hi all,

      Recently (1 week ago) we just upgraded to Sky Unlimited due to this new Mid package usage limit! And during the upgrade time I was continually watching our download speeds (In router stats.) just to keep an eye on things. Now after the upgrade had completed I noticed that our download speed had halved so I got straight on to sky BB to tell them. I went through all the tier 1 India stuff and was then presented with tier 2 (or CR team.) The chap was very helpful and within minutes had my connection (in router) up to 11542Mbps down, and 750kbps up

      However last night I noticed (after a BB speedtest) the router page was now showing 7611Mbps down and 796kbps up? Almost 4Mbps less download speed. I rebooted a few times becasue normaly there is at least a change in the connection speed, however tonight nothing! (the router seems to be locked at 7611Mbps download.)

      Question.. Has this DLM thing kicked back in for me or somehting?

      Thanks guys

      Router stats
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7611 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 db 20.3 db
      Noise Margin 13.6 db 15.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gareth86's Avatar
      gareth86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      You weren't meant to interrupt DLM by calling them in the first place. It would have raised your speed by itself.

      Looking @ the upload it looks like it's gone back to the stats after you upgraded or dlm has kicked in again as it didn't have the chance to before.. or someone may have noticed?

    4. #3
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Quote Originally Posted by gareth86 View Post
      You weren't meant to interrupt DLM by calling them in the first place. It would have raised your speed by itself.

      Looking @ the upload it looks like it's gone back to the stats after you upgraded or dlm has kicked in again as it didn't have the chance to before.. or someone may have noticed?
      Sorry, maybe I didn't explain clearly...

      1. On Sky Mid (before upgrade to unlimited) I had 8.1Mbps download and about 350kbps up ok. These speeds were stable in router stats for about six months. (even after reboots)

      2. After my Sky upgrade to unlimited (I initially got) 4.5Mbps down and 600kbps upload (= worse.) So I called Sky! After talking to Tier 2 they got me to 11.5Mbps download and 750kbps upload.

      3. Now my router stats are lowered again showing 7.6Mbps download and 796kbps upload.

      Alright the upload has gone up, but download speed has dropped by 4 Mbps from the speed the helpful technician at Sky got me to whilst I was talking to him on the phone. He actually tried for 13Mbps but said it was unadvisable as It may have been unstable for my line. This was ok and for me 11.5Mbps was the best he could do.

      So what do I do guys.. Call them again tomorrow to regain my better 11.5Mbps connection or just wait till DLM has finished?

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Sky should not have manually confirgure your line following the upgrade, DLM was supposed to run and configure it for you.

      If DLM is running, it should be allowed to finish, if not and it had been suspended, you will have to ring again for find out what has happened.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      ^ exactly...you should've been told by sales at POS and tier 1 that an upgrade = DLM and they shouldn't have passed you through to CST until it shows complete...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Sky should not have manually confirgure your line following the upgrade, DLM was supposed to run and configure it for you.
      So will my speed actually increase automatically whilst DLM is running because today my download has risen from 7.6Mbps to 8.1Mbps?

      you should've been told by sales at POS and tier 1 that an upgrade = DLM and they shouldn't have passed you through to CST until it shows complete
      How can I tell this please? Service Details in My Sky show.... Service unavailable
      Sorry, this service is currently unavailable. We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

      Regards

      orb
      Last edited by orbiter; 10-07-09 at 12:46 PM.

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      it's on your activation letter - at the bottom - telling you speeds start at 4Mbps Unlimited/3Mbps Everyday/1Mbps Base and PoS should have also made you aware of DLM and tier 1 when you called saying it's slow as they can see if it's running or not...having said that it seems people aren't getting their activation letters, or not reading them...in your case you wouldn't have got one as you're already on Sky BB hence why they should've said that when u[grading your speed will go down to 4Mbps and increase again in the next 7-10 days...looks like Sky suspended DLM, manually configured it and left DLM off...could be wrong though...

      basically if you've just gone live/upgraded any call to CST should've been refused...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it's on your activation letter - at the bottom - telling you speeds start at 4Mbps Unlimited/3Mbps Everyday/1Mbps Base and PoS should have also made you aware of DLM and tier 1 when you called saying it's slow as they can see if it's running or not...having said that it seems people aren't getting their activation letters, or not reading them...in your case you wouldn't have got one as you're already on Sky BB hence why they should've said that when u[grading your speed will go down to 4Mbps and increase again in the next 7-10 days...looks like Sky suspended DLM, manually configured it and left DLM off...could be wrong though...

      basically if you've just gone live/upgraded any call to CST should've been refused...
      Ok, I'll see what happens over the next week or so.. I guess 8Mbps is not so bad, but to be honest we had this happen once when we on the Mid package and only after getting to CST was it sorted out.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      but it shouldn't HAVE got to CST, as you were on DLM...surely you've read enough on here to know if you're new/upgrade you get put on DLM??...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      23
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed just dropped (DLM?)

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      but it shouldn't HAVE got to CST, as you were on DLM...surely you've read enough on here to know if you're new/upgrade you get put on DLM??...
      I didn't realise I would be put back on DLM due to just the upgrade, I thought that it was just used when first connected to Sky. I know now though thanks.
      I would have thought the person I spoke to initially at Sky would have just informed me of DLM though as I did explain straight away that I had just been upgraded to unlimited. Anyway that's done and gone now.

      Am I right in thinking that I just wait now for my line speed to increase back to around 11.5Mbps (router speeds) ?

      Regards

      orb

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION