Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Broadband Problems... :(.

    This is a discussion on Broadband Problems... :(. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm new to this forum, and I have been searching for awhile to try and find a solution to ...

    1. #1
      Tidgney's Avatar
      Tidgney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: We have No Idea!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Problems... :(.

      Hi,

      I'm new to this forum, and I have been searching for awhile to try and find a solution to my problem. When I say We by the way, its me and my father ^^ (Yes 19 and still at home lol ).

      Problem:

      The problem began, when sky did the exchange to the free service, however we ordered the middle package, and ever since then we have had problems after problems, and still cant get it solved.

      Every night between 6:00pm, and 6:45pm, our internet connection is just cut down to less than a mgg at some points, otherwise between 1 and 2, where usually during the day its 6mb. Now you may think, sky connect but heres the additional problem we have.

      We have had this problem for ages now, were it just keeps going on and off, with its temperament ever changing. Now we have tried with Sky so many times to try get the problem resolved, and we never getting anything back, with the famous line we have become familiar of hearing: "You are not a sky broadband subscriber". We did laugh at that line clearly its the opposite when we are using their service. Now however its become a joke and they still insist that we are not with them.

      Anyhow, we have tried everything we could think off, still nothing has worked (As far as we are aware), we are wondering whether anyone has had the same problem, and been able to resolve, or whether any kind person can help us achieve our normal speed limits. I will point out as well we are not being charged for the service either.

      Thanks

      Martin.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stu_uk's Avatar
      stu_uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      so your saying that you dont have a clue as to whom your getting your broadband from??

      Do you have a sky branded router? When you log into your mysky via the sky webpage what package does it say your on? The losing speed at peak times sounds like your on the connect package.

    4. #3
      Tidgney's Avatar
      Tidgney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: We have No Idea!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      Hi,

      Thankyou for the response.

      We should be getting our broadband services of sky which we are as far as we are aware, however they say we are not a customer. We also do have a Sky Broadband box. And as for the connect package thing we have no idea, we should be on the middle, but we aren't as we aren't paying for it, how ever they say we aren't a sky broadband member so its quite confusing really

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      post your stats if you can as this'll help disgnose the product you're on...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Tidgney's Avatar
      Tidgney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: We have No Idea!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      Hi

      Thanks for your reply, here are the stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 20.0 db 12.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.2 db 24.0 db

      Also Firmware Version V1.03.87

      Hope that helps.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      you're on Connect...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Tidgney's Avatar
      Tidgney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: We have No Idea!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      How come sky do not recognize us as a customer though ?

      Also connect is the paid service, and we are not paying a penny. This is where we get confused, because we aren't paying anything.

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      Sounds like someone has messed up on your account, if you are showing no adsl on the system then the only reason it is working is that the router has not been disabled and Openreach have not disconnected your line from the adsl equipment at the exchange.
      The problem is that to get it put right you will need it on your account properly so that tech support can handle the issue for you and this will cost you money each month.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      Well first things first, the problem you are describing is a capacity problem with Sky's connect service which you are on, this is not something you or Sky can fix at the moment so paying for it won't matter, the problem will still be there.

    11. #10
      Tidgney's Avatar
      Tidgney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: We have No Idea!
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Problems... :(.

      Well we do want to be on the middle package, and not on connect. So we wouldn't have a problem with paying, nor the problem with speed cut. However, its when we ask about our account they say we don't have it, which creates this problem of not being able to solve the broadband issue .

      Plus this speed cut only happens for several months then stops again, which is odd, which is also another weird thing about our broadband.

      Thanks for all the replies though!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION