Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Sky advertise 20MB

    This is a discussion on Sky advertise 20MB within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Unfortunately its a marketing ploy, upto 20mb sounds better and more attractive than upto 16mb. Its not just sky who ...

    1. #11
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Unfortunately its a marketing ploy, upto 20mb sounds better and more attractive than upto 16mb. Its not just sky who do it all the isp's will advertise their service as an upto xxmb service. Like you say tho there are only a lucky few who will actually get the full whack.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Azasmith's Avatar
      Azasmith is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Harrowden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Wellingborough, UK
      Posts
      292
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Like you say tho there are only a lucky few who will actually get the full whack.


      But yeh, if you don't get the full 16MB now, you won't see an increase in speed when they go 20MB.

    4. #13
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Unfortunately its a marketing ploy, upto 20mb sounds better and more attractive than upto 16mb. Its not just sky who do it all the isp's will advertise their service as an upto xxmb service. Like you say tho there are only a lucky few who will actually get the full whack.
      Its not really a marketing ploy as its a fact. Of course, we shouldn't forget that ISPs were forced to start using "up to" rather than claiming full speed.

    5. #14
      Maxi's Avatar
      Maxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Biddulph
      Broadband ISP: Hoping it will work 2nd time round
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Sorry to hijack the thread. But has anyone got any idea how much mine will increase?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15800 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.1 db 15.3 db
      Noise Margin 15.0 db 14.8 db

      This is a rough guess as I'm at work atm but its usually the same. Also I was looking at changing my Max delay, does that slow down your actual connection speed or speed it up?

      I know it changes your "ping" but at my parents house when I changed my max delay higher to try an stabilise the line my sync speed was much lower (which I'm guessing I'm on at my own house now). Generally asking Max delay = 8 = higher sync speed or slower?

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Your line has been capped so it will not increase in speed at all, start a new thread with detals of how you are connected, number of extensions if any, do you have an alarm connected to your phone line, how many Sky boxes and are they connected through filters, do you have a test socket? if you do can you post your starts with your router connected to it.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      stats the same, it might increase errors though making it appear slower...

      having said that, if those stats are correct you'll see quite an increase once the roll out starts...possibly the full 20Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Maxi's Avatar
      Maxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Biddulph
      Broadband ISP: Hoping it will work 2nd time round
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      Ah thanks guys! I may get in contact with Sky then about my max delay. MY ping is about 60ms atm.

      As for my connection there is only 1 extension (the skybox) and my router is going directly into my master socket etc, no alarms linked to my phone line. I was mainly wondering about the increase once the 20mb package hits. Thanks again guys!

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      are you still on DLM? if so, best to leave it until finished and then if still giving issues you can call and get it manually reset...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Maxi's Avatar
      Maxi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Biddulph
      Broadband ISP: Hoping it will work 2nd time round
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      I don't think I have ever been DLMed (is that line management?) I've had the connection for a bout 3 years now when sky first started broadband connections. But I'm guessing I will have it done soon once they roll out the 20mb service?

    11. #20
      steveblue's Avatar
      steveblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      walsall
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky advertise 20MB

      dont want to but in bit my attention is 32 i get 16380 down 764 up, i am not boasting, just wanted to say that with attention of 33 you should synch at nearly 16mb

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION