Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Noise margin question

    This is a discussion on Noise margin question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, In anticipation of the new speeds being offered on Max/Unlimited I've been looking into what my stats suggest my ...

    1. #1
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Noise margin question

      Hello,

      In anticipation of the new speeds being offered on Max/Unlimited I've been looking into what my stats suggest my line might manage to sync at. Various line capability estimators have indicated I might see almost 20mb, however my noise margin seems to disagree with that.

      My line is a new installation, it comes straight out of the street cabinet, up a telegraph pole and into a (new build) BT socket. I have also been told that I do not share my line with my neighbours (cant remember the technical term). From seeing other peoples stats I get the impression my noise margin is a little low for my attenuation. I have noticed there is quite a bit of slack in the cable between the pole and my house, and it often swings around quite violently in the wind, i dont know if this could be related.

      I guess what I'm asking is does my noise margin seem too low for my stats? And if so, what are my chances of the cause of this being identified and fixed? Or am I being way too finicky and should I just shut up and be happy with 16mb?

      As a side note, I have had my max delays reduced to 8, and also when I called to have this done the chap on the phone said I had excellent stats and stuck me straight on 16mb. I now realise this probably means I didnt go through the full DLM process. No idea if this is related but felt it was worth mentioning.

      Thanks in advance for any advice offered

      Here are my stats:

      System Up Time: 681:46:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16376 kbps 765 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.5 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 11.5 db
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Noise margin question

      Those stats indicate you are getting the most from your line and will not get any more when DLM is ran, you may actually get a little less download speed.

      Do you have a test socket? if so post the stats again from there.

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Noise margin question

      Assuming that any extension sockets you have are connected to the faceplate of your master socket and that the stats you posted were from the test socket (When you remove the faceplate of your master, the test socket is underneath) and there is no dial tone at any extension with the test socket exposed (when you use the test socket there should only be a dial tone at the test socket, so any alarm panels, Sky boxes, etc should indicate no dial tone).
      If this is the case,I would sit back and wait to see what happens

    5. #4
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise margin question

      Thanks for the replies, just to clarify I understand perfectly well that my noise margin will not allow me to sync any higher, I'm asking if the noise margin seems a little low for my attenuation, especially considering its a brand new install. The master socket is newly installed (one of the new ones without a ring wire), I have no extensions, and my results do not differ between front and test sockets.

      Really I was asking if the slackness in the cable to my house and its constant swinging around could be lowering the margin a little?

      Thanks
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise margin question

      noise margin isn't linked to attenuation - it's linked to the noise on the line...i wouldn't expect anything near 20Mbps with a 24 attenuation...20 tops, ideally in the teens...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      Raveologist's Avatar
      Raveologist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich City
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise margin question

      ok thanks IANTE, guess I'll just put up with 16 then!

      Thanks for your replies guys
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro : Sync 80000/20000

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION