Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    New broadband really slow

    This is a discussion on New broadband really slow within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I have recently signed up for Broadband Max with Sky after setting it all up etc I had ...

    1. #1
      TurboBeast's Avatar
      TurboBeast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New broadband really slow

      Hi all,

      I have recently signed up for Broadband Max with Sky after setting it all up etc I had speeds equivilent to 256KBPS BB and now I have speeds of 756KBPS is there any way we can try and work out the reasons why etc and if there is anything possible to do in order to improve this as you all seem to be gurus!!

      Cheers all,

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      post ur router stats

    4. #3
      TurboBeast's Avatar
      TurboBeast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      Here ya go:

      System Up Time: 1:47:58
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 454 551 0 0 0 0:08:20
      LAN 334 0 0 0 0 1:47:58
      WLAN 24228 19138 0 129 113 1:47:34
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 864 kbps 704 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 8.0 db

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      You have a very long line and are just holding the speeds you currently have.

      If you have a test socket (see sig for details) try it and post the stats again but I wouldn't hold out too much hope.

      Only soloution is cable if it is in your area or to move closer to the exchange which seems a bit drastic.

    6. #5
      TurboBeast's Avatar
      TurboBeast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      oh dear any idea on length of line roughly? That is from the master socket, no test present tho.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      could be anything from 3km to 10km!!

      go to samknows - do an exchange search and find the postcode of your exchange...than do a router planner to your post code and that'll give you some idea of line length...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New broadband really slow

      Or try our Exchange Checker for the same information.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      your line attenuation of 63.5db suggests a distance of above 4.56K from the exchange, could well be more!.
      On the above you could expect the following :-
      Estimation of your maximum rate adaptive adsl speed

      Downstream
      Attenuation 63,5dB Approx Line Length 4.56 or more Kilometres from the exchange.


      dslMAX 1952kbps IP Profile 1500 kbps

      adsl2+ (21CN) 2016kbps IP Profile 1750 kbps

      adsl2+ (LLU) 2016kbps Throughput 1784kbps

      You could go here and add your details for a more detailed idea of distance from exchange.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      Your attenuation is reporting 63.5db, the problem is that that is the ceiling that some routers will report so it could in theory be higher than that.

      I acutally think you are just about at the max but you should post your router stats from the test socket to confirm.

    11. #10
      TurboBeast's Avatar
      TurboBeast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New broadband really slow

      This is from the above site:

      Exchange: Stafford. BT Code: WMSPA
      Location: Eastgate Street, ST16 2NE
      Distance:- Direct: 2.66 km
      (appx)* By Road: 4.35 km
      Status
      ADSL enabled : June 30, 2001
      DSL Max enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL enabled : Enabled
      21CN due : (PSTN) No Info
      21CN WBC (Broadband) Enabled 21.03.09
      Broadband Access Market Broadband Access† Market 3

      BT Line Speed Estimation

      Fixed ADSL: 1024 kbps (1 Mb)
      DSL Max : 2500 kbps (2.5 Mb)
      21CN WBC : Not Available

      Important: The above figures are obtained from the BTw database, which is often conservative.
      DSLmax speeds are best guess based on the surrounding area and cannot take into effect individual line conditions which may effect the result such as the type of equipment you use or other issues which may affect the Signal to Noise Ratio.

      If you already have adsl then you may be interested in Max dsl speed calculator which may give a better indication of your lines capability.
      RAG Test Results

      Fixed: Long line green for 1Mbps, Red for 2Mbps
      radsl: 512Kbps and 256Kbps available
      MAX: ADSL Max is available
      TPON: No info in database
      Check: The check identified another service on your line which may prevent you from ordering a new ADSL connection. Examples are : Existing adsl connection, DACs, LLU, TPON etc

      adsl 1 linecode : AGEC
      dslmax linecode: AEGEGEC
      Explanation of RAG codes.

      The Line Attenuation was 71.5db but when plugged into the Master socket went down to 63.5db. However in the master socket there is no test point so I can't connect to the test point.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION