Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    New wiring done has it improved anything?

    This is a discussion on New wiring done has it improved anything? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; From the OP posted Stats I note Mode: G.DMT and not ADSL +2? Stats are still showing Errors with a ...

    1. #11
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      From the OP posted Stats I note Mode: G.DMT and not ADSL+2?
      Stats are still showing Errors with a SNRM of 17.5 even though down from first set


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      Hi thanks for your reply, i have rang them they changed the speed from 6mb to 8mb, i was just hoping that the new wiring would improve it a bit more than that i will ring them and see what happens

      Edit: what does the G.DMT and not ADSL+2 mean thanks

    4. #13
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      Older original DSL is G.DMT and/or ANSI T1.413 (up to 8 Mbps Downstream/up to 1 Mbps Upstream) and both are fully interchangeable. Also called "Full Rate" ADSL.

      ADSL+2 The faster you go the more stress and demand is placed in the entire line and even more so on the inside wiring.

      ADSL2+ drops speed dramatically as distance increases since the ADSL2+ places 4 times the load demands on the line.

      If you have a Marginal ADSL line that get less than 1.0, then you are not going to see any miracles from ADSL2+.
      It might be because of the above that your better off on G.DMT adsl 2 which is upto 12mbps. See chart i posted.
      Sorry its the easiest I can put it for you.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New wiring done has it improved anything?-dsl_standards.jpg  

    5. #14
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      ok thanks for explaining that so well

    6. #15
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      Just got of the phone with sky they did a line check and the person said 8 meg is all my line can handle so i guess i'm sticking with it. Thanks for your help

    7. #16
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      was it just first line support that told you that?

    8. #17
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      Hi yes the first person i spoke to couldn't do a "line check" so called his boss who said 8mb is limit

    9. #18
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      can you re-post your current router stats?

      It may be that you need to get through to tier2/3 to get your speed manually changed if you have a good noise margin and a stable line.

    10. #19
      nimitron's Avatar
      nimitron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leicester Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      sure
      System Up Time 00:18:55
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7322 9602 0 1450 10408 00:17:19
      LAN 10M/100M 10136 7894 0 9860 1561 00:18:52
      WLAN 11M/54M 203 0 0 51 0 00:18:44


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 17.5 db 14.0 db

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 17.5 14.0
      Attn(dB): 26.0 18.0
      Pwr(dBm): 17.9 8.9
      Max(Kbps): 11712 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 62067 62007
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 8441176 527059
      RSCorr: 0 2
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 20147825 0
      Data Cells: 230068 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      AS: 1056

      INP: 1.50 2.46
      PER: 1.83 1.88
      delay: 16.75 17.23
      OR: 30.56 29.71

      Bitswap: 0 0

      Total time = 18 min 8 sec
      SF = 62067
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 18 min 8 sec
      SF = 62067
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 3 min 8 sec
      SF = 11033
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51034
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

      should i ring again? is my line stable enough for a better speed

    11. #20
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New wiring done has it improved anything?

      phone them up and say u have a slow connection and want to be put threw to tier 3 or customer solution team and ask them to put u onto adsl2+ u will see near on 16mbit
      Last edited by iangilf; 03-07-09 at 06:34 PM. Reason: edit

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION