Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    My Sky Broadband Service Details?

    This is a discussion on My Sky Broadband Service Details? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; too fast for my line? lol thats rubbish just cause i have a better line than most and i used ...

    1. #11
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      too fast for my line? lol thats rubbish just cause i have a better line than most and i used to get 18mbit on ukonline , sky should uncap my line now and give me what my lines capable of
      i used to be on the old 24mbit service on ukonline and got near on 20mbit with dan tweaking my line to snr of 3 and it held all the time
      and dlm has run on my line and it sucked so had it turned off due to it being useless for me
      Last edited by iangilf; 02-07-09 at 07:41 PM. Reason: edit


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      Well, you think what you want, but I bet I am right

      Sky's target NM is 6.9, yours is sitting at just over 5, when that is corrected you will lose a meg or two, sorry

      DLM is to be ran again for all existing customers and the CST are being told that they are not allowed to suspend it this time around so get ready.

    4. #13
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      yes i know what u r saying but whats that got to do with sky uncapping my line?

      i lower my snr myself using dmt tool otherwise my snr sits at 7
      Last edited by iangilf; 02-07-09 at 07:45 PM. Reason: edit

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      Sky will be switching everybody to the new upto 20mb speed once the DLM is ran, you could ring before then to see if you can get them to manually configre it but with that noise margin as I have said they are more likley to cap it further.

    6. #15
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      all dlm does is muck my line up so why would i want that run again?
      and as soon as it runs again ill just get it taken off

    7. #16
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      They don't take it of, it is suspended, but thats what I have been trying to tell you, Sky CST have been informed that they are no longer allowed to suspend it until it has finished which is around 10 days or so.

      If they do then they may be given an official warrning or even have their employment terminated.

    8. #17
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      lol sounds rediculous to be honest cause uve helped someone were gonna sack u real bad to be working for sky then if thats what u get sacked over , sounds real petty

    9. #18
      gareth86's Avatar
      gareth86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      Quote Originally Posted by HiPing View Post
      Ive been trying to check my stats on MySky but I havent been able to log into Sky at all since 1600hrs, anyone else having this prob. Every other website is fine
      Can login to Sky, but the Broadband Service Details page has refused to load all day.

    10. #19
      FrankM's Avatar
      FrankM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wakefield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      Smithy 99 I read you comments with interest regarding the impending changes to the broadband service and the reality depending on router stats.

      In you opinion do you think I stand a chance of an increased line speed given these stats ?

      ADSL Link .......... Downstream..... Upstream
      Connection Speed 8980 kbps....... 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 db ........... 24.3 db
      Noise Margin .. 7.8 db ............. 13.0 db

      I've logged into My sky for my status and they say..

      Your Sky Broadband
      You have Sky Broadband Unlimited which offers a maximum download speed of up to 20Mb

      Speed Estimate
      When you purchased Sky Broadband, we estimated that the maximum download speed for your line was: 10-20Mb.


      Thanks for any help

    11. #20
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My Sky Broadband Service Details?

      These are my stats and my attenuation is around the same as mine. Check to make sure that the ring wires (Terminal 3) on all yout phone sockets are disconnected.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 12095 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.5 db 23.9 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 13.5 db

      I would have thought if your internal wiring is good then you should get close to the 10Mb mark.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION