Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Should I be getting faster speeds?

    This is a discussion on Should I be getting faster speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, Great site, i've been a bit of a lurker, I've just had to move back in with my ...

    1. #1
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Hi guys,

      Great site, i've been a bit of a lurker, I've just had to move back in with my folks, and it seems to me they should be able to get better speeds than they currently are.

      Here are the stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 16 db

      Sky Max package, the master socket is old, so no test socket or anything, currently connected to a hardwired extension.

      Any input greatly appreciated.

      Al


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      First make sure that all the ring wires in terminal 3 are disconnected as these are not needed and can cause speed problems. disconnected them from all phone sockets in the house to get best results.
      Second how long have they been with sky broadband, if they have been with them for more than 10 days then your line is capped and need to ring sky to sort it out and the upload speed is too low for max also, ask them to increase that as well, but first check ring wires.

      Hope this is useful.

    4. #3
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Ring wires are disconnected, its been a lot longer than 10 days so I'll have to get in touch with Sky to sort it out, although i guess they shouldn't talk to me as I'm not the account holder.

      Might just wait for this 20mbit malarky to go ahead, see if that makes a difference.

      Thanks for the help.

    5. #4
      steve9999's Avatar
      steve9999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by Alberto View Post
      Hi guys,

      Great site, i've been a bit of a lurker, I've just had to move back in with my folks, and it seems to me they should be able to get better speeds than they currently are.

      Here are the stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8188 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 21 db
      Noise Margin 13 db 16 db

      Sky Max package, the master socket is old, so no test socket or anything, currently connected to a hardwired extension.

      Any input greatly appreciated.

      Al
      You line could get 13390Kbps going by...
      The ADSL and ADSL2+ Line Capability Estimator

    6. #5
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Yeah, theres definitely some more for it to give.

    7. #6
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Interestingly, although I haven't spoken to sky, or been on DLM as far as I'm aware, when I came home today my Sync speed had increased.

      New stats are:

      Connection Speed 12285 kbps 921 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36 db 20 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 6 db


      I'm quite pleased


    8. #7
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Please delete.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Interestingly, although I haven't spoken to sky, or been on DLM as far as I'm aware, when I came home today my Sync speed had increased.
      Have you not received an email telling you DLM would be run on your line? It looks like it is, so don't switch off the router, at least until the training is complete. You can check what is happening by going to the Broadband Details on your MySky page.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      As I said earlier, its mu Mum's account, so I dont have ready access to the MySky page and such.

      Pretty sure she would have told me had she received an email from Sky about DLM, but I'll check after work.

      I thought DLM started low and then gradually increased your speed? Didn't expect a 4 meg increase straight away....

      I'll look into whats going on anyway, its a bit annoying if it is DLM, as i've just finished wiring the house with cat5 to allow me to move the router to the master socket...

      Ah well, such is life.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      The upgrade does not start low afaik. only when it is a new connection. Even if it has started training I don't think moving your router once would make much difference. It is also possible your line has just been uncapped and DLM is not actually running. Get your mum to check on the MySky page.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION