Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    very slow - can anyone help?

    This is a discussion on very slow - can anyone help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; these are my results can anyone help please? ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 2597 kbps 382 kbps Line Attenuation ...

    1. #1
      nicnac's Avatar
      nicnac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      very slow - can anyone help?

      these are my results can anyone help please?



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2597 kbps 382 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 28 db
      Noise Margin 11 db 23 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: very slow - can anyone help?

      Are you using wireless, if so try wired then change the wireless channel number in the router settings, start at 13 and work down.

      Wireless sucks, you would be better wired or using homeplugs.

    4. #3
      nicnac's Avatar
      nicnac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very slow - can anyone help?

      i tried changing the channels and it made it worse (it's on currently on 11).

      and i can't really connect with a wire as i live with 2 other people and we all have laptops.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: very slow - can anyone help?

      It looks like you are capped for some reason. Plug into the test socket, link below and take your stats from there. Wireless is OK for this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: very slow - can anyone help?

      Capped yes but that wouldn't explain the thruput issue, I still think wireless is to blame.

      Connect with a lead just to prove this

      Another thought, is one of the other people using P2P? this will seriously affect everyone elses connection as it will eat all the bandwith.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: very slow - can anyone help?

      Capped yes but that wouldn't explain the thruput issue, I still think wireless is to blame.
      You are probably correct,
      The P2P or torrents is another possibility, this is a problem in many households, especially ones with student accommodation, where the one with the strongest signal can hog the bandwidth constantly downloading at the expense of others.

      To get the best possible under the circumstances I would advise going to DrTCP, link below, do the Tweak Test and download and run DrTCP to make the changes recommended.

      Also downloading and running Malwarebytes would clear out any nasties that may be interfering.
      Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - Free software downloads and reviews - CNET Download.com

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION