Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 16 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 152

    Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

    This is a discussion on Disconnects 'n Speed Issues? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Guys, Things are not looking good I got another disconnect again!!! at approx 16:50 today.... I noticed this when i ...

    1. #91
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Guys,

      Things are not looking good
      I got another disconnect again!!! at approx 16:50 today....



      I noticed this when i got back home today around 18:15.....the SNR was sitting at 2147483 and the router never managed to resync back; the internet light on the router was lit orange.....as if it was in some weird state.

      So tried a reboot and it will only sync at lower speeds between 5-9meg.

      Also, got a call from Sky before this, and they say that all they can do now is monitor it and see how it goes. If issue reoccurs, they can't really do much more.....as they claim that its all they can do
      So it would seem they can only start capping me down to see how stable it gets

      I'm on the opion that i've been with Sky for 4 years at the property (from new)....and never had any issues until now. So how can it be acceptable to start capping me down below what i use to get?

      So i'm not so sure where to go with this now?


      Sky will callback tommorrow to see how i get on.

      And the BT engineer has taken my mobile, and has offered to call me back in a few days to see how are things. Not sure if he will call me or not.
      But again, i'm not sure what he'll do now that its still not working? Btw, he's a REINs engineer.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?-noisemargin-2009jul20-1650.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      The problem is that broadband is a "best effort" service. This means that having replaced the router and had Openreach out a couple ot times there comes a point where Sky will be unwilling to take this further and will capp your speed untill the line is stable.

    4. #93
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Best effort service fair enough, when your a new customer and they're trying to determine whats the best level of service you can possibly achieve on your line (being that they have no history of you). But when you've had a consistent service for 4 years; and now they tell you can no longer get this same level of service?

      As a worst case example, say they need to cap you down to 4meg in order to stablise the line. This would still be acceptable?
      Being that i've had a service for all this time at 10-11meg?

      Surely, I don't think anyone would accept anything other than the same level of service (and anything better would be a bonus).
      This is my concern if it goes down this route.....

      Its obvious that something external has changed to cause all this.....but in end the customer still has to suffer and just put up and accept an unreliable service or a service thats much slower. How can that be right?

      Btw, think the changes have made things worst....
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8141 kbps 760 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 4 db 18 db
      Last edited by hyeung; 20-07-09 at 09:45 PM.

    5. #94
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Been monitoring the snr....and i cant quite understand what the heck is going on here. Ever since the connection dropped around 17:00 (see previous graph)...its been sycn'd at 8meg with very strange fluctuations in snr i.e. 4-5db.....now all of a sudden from 20:45, the snr starts to shoot up to 13db within 5mins....
      Its now sitting at 13db all the way thru....

      This is the sorta behaviour i'm seeing at times.

      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?-noisemargin-2009jul20-2059.jpg  

    6. #95
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      There is obviously a bad fault on your line which may be a loose joint making occasional full contact. Unless this happens when the line is being checked it can be very difficult to trace. It is difficult to say what you can do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #96
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is obviously a bad fault on your line which may be a loose joint making occasional full contact. Unless this happens when the line is being checked it can be very difficult to trace. It is difficult to say what you can do.
      Based on the states changes so far, can it still be a loose joint else where? Or are you suggesting its still a loose joint within one of these?
      1) E side changed (cabinet and exchange amends)
      2) Changed to another port/card on exchange (sky equipment)
      3) D side changed (cabinet and internal distribution box)
      4) Router changed
      5) filtered faceplate on the master

      Just wondering, is there is difference by connecting to a test socket and connecting via the existing prefiltered faceplate?
      I assume in each case, any other wiring (extensions) would not conflict.
      Last edited by hyeung; 21-07-09 at 02:40 PM.

    8. #97
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Just wondering, is there is difference by connecting to a test socket and connecting via the existing prefiltered faceplate?
      Do you have a Test socket? I thought you said earlier that you didn't. My apologies if you have had one fitted, as you will appreciate your thread is rather long to check back through. If you have a test socket, plug the router in there and see if there is any improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #98
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Do you have a Test socket? I thought you said earlier that you didn't. My apologies if you have had one fitted, as you will appreciate your thread is rather long to check back through. If you have a test socket, plug the router in there and see if there is any improvement.
      I didnt initally, but eventually a pre-filtered face plate was fitted NTE2000.
      Just wanted to confirm that using this face plate is no different from connecting directly to the test socket.

    10. #99
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      It shouldn't be, unless the faceplate is faulty. It is worth trying it in the Test socket, just to be sure.

      Have you had a look around your house and neighbourhood to see if anything obvious is switching on at 16.50 and off at 20.50? If it is always at the same time, then it may be some sort of REIN interference. I think you mentioned that a REIN engineer had been out, but if he is not there when the interference is taking place, he will not find anything. Here are a few causes of this type of interference to give you an idea what to look for.
      A current imbalance between two power carrying conductors (Earth leakage fault).
      Faulty thermostats (Central heating, Immersion heaters).
      Electrical power supply units (Laptops, Routers, Plasma TVs).
      Industrial/Commercial power usage (Electric Railways, Electric fences, Electric motors).
      Decorative electrical items (Christmas tree lights, Touch lights).
      Security systems (PIR lights switching on and off).
      Digital Communication Receivers (Satellite and Freeview set top boxes).
      Internal power and telecoms cables running close together.
      Another possibility is a faulty PSU in a PC, there is such a case on the forum at the moment.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #100
      hyeung's Avatar
      hyeung is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      137
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Disconnects 'n Speed Issues?

      Been mucking around and trying different modems to see what effect i'll get i.e.
      DG834PN.
      I've managed to get into the debug side of things and got some stats.
      Not sure how this looks?

      But i am curious as the Downstream Pwr(dBm) seems to alternate between the values of 0.0, 1.5 and up to 844? What does this mean, and is this normal?

      Any other comments on the stats would be appreciated?


      The update is that i'm simply monitoring the line over the next few days to see how things run. As further changes were made to the physical line. So far with the new Sky netgear router all was good for over a day....when it dropped twice the following day.
      So before i start capping things down....i'm curious as to what effects my line will have on a different modem.


      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 946 Kbps, Downstream rate = 140
      42 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.2 8.5
      Attn(dB): 35.0 17.4
      Pwr(dBm): 844.8 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 14332 1048
      Rate (Kbps): 14042 946
      G.dmt framing
      K: 247(0) 29
      R: 8 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 109 68
      B: 246 28
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 8 16
      S: 0.5605 7.5725
      L: 3639 262
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 253840 253838
      SFErr: 19 1
      RS: 29191634 2157623
      RSCorr: 826867 553648128
      RSUnCorr: 213 0

      HEC: 15 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 135522835 9108401
      Data Cells: 729949 273158
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 20 1
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 13 36
      Total time = 1 hours 8 min 29 sec
      SF = 253840
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 20
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 8 min 29 sec
      SF = 253840
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 20
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 29 sec
      SF = 31575
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55892
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55768
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55893
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54712
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      #
      #

     

     
    Page 10 of 16 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION