Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Speed Issue

    This is a discussion on Speed Issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello all. I recently moved from Virgin to Sky Broadband Unlimited (20mb). I am now going through DLM however my ...

    1. #1
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Issue

      Hello all.

      I recently moved from Virgin to Sky Broadband Unlimited (20mb). I am now going through DLM however my speeds are simply disgraceful and i really cant understand why they are so slow when compared to the distance i live away from the exchange.

      I am exactly 1167m from my exchange (Stainton) however i thought i would be getting slightly higher speeds now that DLM has started.

      Now i realise i should not start panicing until DLM is complete, but at the moment im not very opitmistic especially with some of the stats im getting.

      Ive noticed that my Line Attenuation is quite high, however i am sure it was not as high as that before DLM kicked in (Although i have no proof since i didnt take a screenshot) So could something else be wrong with my line as it got overhauled approximately 2 months ago when i re-activated my BT line.

      Anyway, any and all help is greatly appreciated!

      Thanks, Jamie

      (Note: The readings were took from 192.168.0.1)
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Speed Issue-broadband-speed.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      How did you work ot the distance?

      Your attenuation says you are a lot further from the exchange than that in line length, but you should get around 6-7mb.

      You need to get the stats from the test socket as I suspect you have wiring problems which is causing noise on the connection. (see sig for test socket details).

    4. #3
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      To work out my distance i used samknows and added my house onto the map and it calculated the exact difference between the two places.

      Anyway, ill have to post test socket stats later on as ive got to go out.

      Thanks for your help

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Quote Originally Posted by Jabbed View Post
      To work out my distance i used samknows and added my house onto the map and it calculated the exact difference between the two places.
      That is where the problem is, just becuase you draw a line between your house and the exchange does not mean that the line runs that way, in fact it won't, it will follow the roads more often than not.

      Even then it may not come the shortest way and could go half way around the town before getting to you. You attenuation says your line is much longer and if this attenuation does not reduce by quite some way you will not get the speeds you are expecting.

      You should see 6-7mb with that attenuation but your noise margin is showing you getting nearly all you can so I imagine a problem with the internal wiring, the test socket should prove this.

    6. #5
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      I do realise that it wont go 100% direct to my house, however i figured it would be useful information to try and solve my issue.

      Should i wait until DLM has finished before i plug my router into the test socket?

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      No, do it now, DLM wont mind the odd disconnection and you may want to leave it in the test socket to keep DLM happy.

      At the moment, DLM is likley to keep the speed as is or even reduce it with your noise margin, you need to fix it before DLM completes.

    8. #7
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Ok, i just tried in in the test socket and here are the results.

      Imageshack - broadbandtestsocket

      Any ideas?

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Those are much better and show that you have some serious interference being caused by your internal wiring,

      If you fit a filtered faceplate and leave the router there it will be the best option. You could also try removing any wires connecting to terminal 3, you don't need it and it causes noise.

    10. #9
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Thanks for the help smithy,

      regarding the filtered faceplate, should this be fitted to the master socket or the current socket my router is plugged into? (master socket was fitted 3 months ago)

      Im afraid i have no clue about electrics / telephone wires as the best ive done is wired up a plug before , is there any guides for removing terminal 3 wires?

      And finally, i realise i wont get the speeds i was probably expecting but what speeds would you suggest i could possibly get if i fixed my noise problem?

      Thanks again!

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      the faceplates are fitted to the NTE5 (master) and router located there...then you can go wireless, run ethernet or look at homeplugs...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION