Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Speed Issue

    This is a discussion on Speed Issue within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It is fitted to the master socket and is very easy to do. Removing the wires in therminal 3 is ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      It is fitted to the master socket and is very easy to do. Removing the wires in therminal 3 is very easy also:-

      Remove the faceplate again exposing the test socket and look at the rear of it, there should be some wires which connect to 2, 5 & 3, just pull the ones connected to terminal 3 up and out, that's it done.

      You don't need terminal 3 with modern phones, so sometimes there is nothing in it but if there is it can cripple speeds.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Ok, i realise this post is 2 weeks late but some problems (family issues) occured and therefore my broadband had to be abandoned. Anyway, im back and have fiddled around with a few thing and here is the updated stats.

      I will be ringing sky later on this week to either restart DLM or increase the speed manually, I know it varies but what speeds could i possibly get at the moment?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Speed Issue-broabdband-4.jpg  
      Last edited by Jabbed; 13-07-09 at 03:14 PM.

    4. #13
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      congrats on the stats improvement looking a lot more healthy than your originals!
      at a guess with your attenuation and now improved noise margin you should hit 8Mb maybe a bit more. best getting onto sky and see for yourself once DLM has run or had your line manually configured

    5. #14
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Ok after coming off the phone from sky my speeds have doubled , it may not be the 20mb but im happy.

      Here are the stats.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Speed Issue-skybb-8.jpg  

    6. #15
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      did they manually configure your line? there's still room for a small improvement on your download but especially on your upload (if you signed up after they announced 20Mb download / 1.3Mb upload)

      Perhaps they set it lower to check your connection would be stable but it can give a bit more if you feel the need for speed

    7. #16
      Jabbed's Avatar
      Jabbed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stainton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Issue

      Yes they configured my line manually, i suppose i could possibly squeeze another 1mb... well see

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION